Content
This guide contains a full list of historical and contemporary South Australian newspapers available at the State Library of South Australia. Of the more than 400 newspapers listed here, 75% are old titles which have ceased publication. The list includes some 90 newspapers currently in publication.
The tabs allow you to locate past and present newspapers listed by:
For many titles a short descriptive history has been included to provide an insight into the newspaper's content.
Each title includes a link to the catalogue record, and the 'more' link provides a brief history - where one is available. More detailed histories for 200 titles also appear on the SA Memory site. The catalogue link provides access to digital versions of the newspaper where these are available. The Online Newspapers tab provides links to all known South Australian newspaper websites.
Availability of Newspapers
Almost all the newspapers are available within the Library (microfilm or hard copy) with a number also available digitally. Most of the digital titles are historic (pre-1955) due to copyright.
Newspapers on microfilm are available for immediate access and copying during the Library's opening hours.
Apart from recent issues of newspapers, titles which have not been digitised or microfilmed need to be requested from storage, and viewed in the Somerville Reading Room.
Digitised Newspapers
The digitising of the historic South Australian newspapers on the Trove website has been achieved by collaboration with the National Library.
The Trove website currently includes more than 80 South Australian newspapers (covering both city and country) for the period 1836 to 1999. (Post-1954 newspapers have been added to Trove only with the publisher's consent.)
Arrangement
This guide includes an alphabetical title listing of all South Australian newspapers. In addition, there are chronological and geographical lists.
A number of subject lists under broad headings such as 'religious', 'political', 'sporting', 'humour/satire' etc, provide information for more specialised research.
The Online Newspapers tab links to a list of all known South Australian newspaper websites, by title.
Non South Australian Newspapers
Information about non-South Australian newspapers and Online newspapers may be found on the Library Guide - Newspapers in the State Library.
Major South Australian newspapers for the period 1836-1954 have been digitised and made fully searchable on the Trove website. This includes representative newspapers for country districts.
Due to copyright restrictions, newspapers post 1954 may only be added to Trove with the permission of the copyright owner.
The majority of the South Australian titles on Trove have been financed by the National Library.
