Skip to main content

Irish Resources for Family Historians: General Resources

This State Library of South Australia guide highlights resources available at the Library as well as various databases and websites that may assist your search for ancestors in Ireland

County Websites

The counties of Ireland

Available at the State Library

Dublin City Council Database

What you can find in this database.

Monica Roberts Collection

Monica Roberts was a young woman from Stillorgan, County Dublin who at the outset of the First World War set up a society ‘The Band of Helpers for Soldiers’ to send comforts to Irish men at the Front. The Monica Roberts Collection consists of 453 letters from 56 men serving in the Royal Dublin Fusiliers and the Royal Flying Corps.

Community Memory Database

The objective is to create a database of all those named on commemorative plaques around the city - in churches, public institutions and open spaces.

What is included? All those named on plaques, from large war memorials, to honour boards of presidents / officers of societies, family monuments, down to the single name on a kneeling board. 1950 was chosen as the cut-off date. Grave stones have been excluded and to date no house commemorative plaques have been included.

The database contains 14,834 records.

Electoral Lists Database 1938-1964

These records list all those registered to vote in Dublin city in Dáil and local elections, for use in polling stations at election time. This online database covers the years 1938-1964.

Electoral Lists Database 1908-1915

Dublin City Electoral Lists Database is a Dublin City Council project. It is the first part of a wider project to digitise all of the Dublin City Council Electoral Rolls 1898-1916 for inclusion in a forthcoming database connected to literary Dublin and to Centenary Commemorations for 1913-1916. The database is fully searchable and is useful for family history, local history and social history.

Dublin Graveyards Directory

The Directory covers all graveyards in the Dublin area (i.e. Dublin City; Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown; Fingal; and South Dublin) and gives information on:

  1. The location of graveyards
  2. Contact details for those in charge of graveyards
  3. Titles of published gravestone transcripts (available in most research libraries)
  4. Links to on-line gravestone transcripts
  5. Location of surviving burial records
  6. Other information of interest about the graveyard

Ancient Freemen of Dublin Database

The ancient freedom of Dublin was instituted in the 13th century and continued until it was abolished under the Representation of the People Act, 1918. "Freedom" was, in effect, citizenship: freemen had the right to vote, were exempt from many tolls and taxes, were subject to the laws of Dublin and had the duty to take up arms to defend the city when it was under attack.

These records are a list of all those admitted to the freedom of Dublin by the civic governing body, the Dublin City Assembly. The records cover the period from 1461 to 1491, and 1564 to 1774.

Cemetery Burial Registers

This on-line database of Dublin City Council and Dublin Corporation cemetery burial registers is a Dublin City Council project, under the overall direction of Dublin City Librarian, Margaret Hayes, and Dublin City Archivist, Dr. Mary Clark.  Inlused Clontarf (St. John the Baptist), Drimnagh (Bluebell) and Finglas (St. Canices).

Dublin Directory 1647-1706

The Dublin Directory 1647-1706 has been compiled for online publication from contemporary sources at Dublin City Library & Archive and at the Royal Irish Academy. The data consists of names of Dublin citizens; the parish or street in which they lived; in some instances their trade or occupation; and if payment of taxes or fines is recorded, the amount paid in each instance.

Access databases.dublincity.ie now!