LibGuides: Australian convict records: Australia

Convict arrival dates

New South Wales	1788 - 1850
Queensland	1824 - 1839
Tasmania	1803 - 1853
Victoria	1803 - 1849
Western Australia	1850 - 1868

Books in the State Library

Bound for Botany Bay : British convict voyages to Australia by Alan Brooke and David Brandon
Publication Date: 2005
Britain's convicts to the colonies by Wilfrid Oldham
Publication Date: 1990
Convict families that made Australia : containing genealogical details of ... convicts, their wives, children & grandchildren by C. J. Smee
Publication Date: 1999
Incomplete listing of convicts arriving in NSW 1821-1830.
Convict records in Australia by Cora Num
Publication Date: 2007
SA convicts sentenced to transportation 1837-1851 by Graham Jaunay
Publication Date: 1995
Regards a database of convicts sentenced in SA courts to be transported to convict prisons in the other colonies.

Useful websites

Convict transportation registers database
State Library of Queensland database listing 123,000 of the estimated 160,000 convicts sent to Australia 1788 - 1868.
First Fleet Online
University of Wollongong database for 780 convicts in the First Fleet, 1788.
Genealogylinks.net
International genealogy links including links to convict information.
Ireland - Australia Transportation Records - Index
Irish convicts sent to Australia 1788 - 1856 from the Irish National Archives. See Irish Transportation Records - this page
Records of the Old Bailey
Database of records for the "Old Bailey", London's Central Criminal Court, 1674-1913.
People convicted to transportation in South Australian courts
Convicts sentenced in South Australian courts and sent to eastern convict prisons.
Convict Records
Free website with option to add your own information.
Hyde Park Barracks
Australia's first government-built convict barracks, Sydney.
National Archives (U.K.) research guide
Researching criminal transportation in the British National Archives.
England and the Hulks - maritime heritage
History and daily life on the British prison hulks.

Medical Officer at Port Arthur

Painting of Dr James Weston of Adelaide, wife Miriam and daughter Fanny, by an unnamed convict artist. Dr Weston was stationed at Port Arthur between 1844 to 1849. (B 11268)

Irish transportation records

Irish transportation records of convicts transported to Australia between 1788 and 1856
Browse these online via Trove.

Can also be accessed on microfilm via the Australian Joint Copying Project collection. More details here.

Australian convict records: Australia

Convict arrival dates

Books in the State Library

Useful websites

Medical Officer at Port Arthur

Irish transportation records

Ask us