Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government and country information: Statistics and the economy

Australian state and federal governments and parliamentary publications; UN and country economic and political information.

eResources

Find indexes to articles and full-text articles from magazines, websites, encyclopedias and subject guides. Some are freely available to anyone with internet access, others are licensed resources which may only be used at the State Library. Click on the View more details link in each individual record for access information.

Some of our subscription databases are available to South Australian residents for home access.

EBSCO Databases

  • Date / Coverage : Full-text from 1998; indexes from early 1980s
  • Format :Website
  • Conditions of access: Onsite and Home Access
  • Visit website
  • Networked to all public PCs except ELLIS and OPACs. Registered Home Access users click here.

EBSCOhost is a collection of subject specific and multidisciplinary databases. The full-text, index and citation information comes from various sources including leading newspapers, journals and reference books.

National Library of Australia

Other database resources can be accessed by registering with the National Library of Australia.

Gapminder

Founded in Stockholm in 2005, Gapminder is a non-profit venture – a modern “museum” on the Internet – promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals.

Gapminder does not award any grants. It is an operating foundation that provides services as defined by the board, sometimes as collaborative projects with universities, UN organisations, public agencies and non-governmental organisations.

Statistics quotation

Lies, damned lies, and statistics is a phrase describing the persuasive power of numbers, particularly the use of statistics to bolster weak arguments, and the tendency of people to disparage statistics that do not support their positions. It is also sometimes colloquially used to doubt statistics used to prove an opponent's point.

The term was popularised in the United States by Mark Twain (among others), who attributed it to the 19th-century British Prime Minister Benjamin Disraeli (1804–1881): "There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics." However, the phrase is not found in any of Disraeli's works and the earliest known appearances were years after his death. Other coiners have therefore been proposed. The most plausible, given current evidence, is Englishman Sir Charles Wentworth Dilke (1843–1911).

 

Against all odds: a gentle introduction to statistics

Against all odds: a gentle introduction to statistics consists of 32 free videos hosted by Harvard geneticist Pardis Sabeti to guide viewers - real people working on real problems -  through statistical applications used by scientists, business owners, even Shakespeare scholars, in their work & daily lives.