Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Aboriginal Family History: Other organisations

The State Library of South Australia holds a wide cross section of information about South Australia and its people, some of which relates to Aboriginal people, but specific information regarding families can sometimes require broad research.

AIATSIS

AIATSIS has developed the Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Biographical Index (ABI) referring to people mentioned in published books, magazines and journals that are held in the Library. The ABI is part of Mura®, the AIATSIS catalogue. Infokoori also indexes many similar and other magazines / newspapers. The AIATSIS Family History Unit has developed many useful guides, available under the Resources heading on the Family History page

Nunkuwarrin Yunti of South Australia Inc. Link-Up Service

The SA Link-Up unit offers assistance and support to research client files, initiate family contact and provide ongoing support following reunion. Referral to Bringing Them Home counsellors and other agencies is also available.

The unit is located within Nunkuwarrin Yunti, 182-190 Wakefield Street, Adelaide SA 5000

Telephone: 08 8406 1600

State Records of South Australia

www.archives.sa.gov.au
115 Cavan Road, Gepps Cross
Telephone: (08) 8343 6800

State Records holds records of both South Australian Government and Local Government. Such records (including family care records) can assist members of the Stolen Generations and other Aboriginal people removed from their families.

State Records maintains a searchable database of names of Aboriginal people identified in key series within their collection, known as the Aboriginal Information Management System (AIMS). The database comprises more than 140,000 entries and includes tribal names, nicknames, age, sex, location, description of record, and a State Records reference number.

The Aboriginal Access Team provides a number of services to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities, including personalised research assistance. Any enquiries about records relating to Aboriginal people can be directed to the Access Team via Email.

South Australian Museum

Library, archives and Aboriginal family history unit
email  archives@samuseum.sa.gov.au
Science Centre, off North Terrace
Provides a research service for both family and community histories.
Due to heavy demand, access is by appointment only.

The SA Museum holds the Tindale Genealogies - information and photographs collected by anthropologist Norman Tindale during his visits to missions throughout Australia during the 1930s to 1950s.

National Archives

Adelaide office
Wed-Fri 10-5.
State Library of South Australia
Telephone: (08) 8204 8787
Online enquiry form

This fact sheet lists the types of records useful for researching Aboriginal history, including military records.

Church Archives

Archival records kept by church bodies may provide information about baptisms, confirmations, marriages and burials, as well as records about children in care. Principles of confidentiality and privacy apply to gaining access. Some archives have not been fully indexed. The three largest church bodies with records are: Lutheran Archives, the Catholic Church, and the Anglican Church.

Genealogy SA

GPO Box 592
Adelaide SA 5001
Website: https://www.genealogysa.org.au
Telephone: (08) 8272 4222