LibGuides: European Resources for Family Historians: Jews in Europe

Introduction

To help trace your Jewish roots in Europe a selection of resources available at the State Library as well as various websites have been listed below.

To trace family arriving in South Australia try our guide to immigration. If family arrived in Australia after 1940 passenger lists may be found at National Archives, as passenger lists came under Federal jurisdiction after 1940.

Websites

Please note that these websites are not arranged in any particular order and are only a selection of the large number available on the internet.

Gesher Galicia
Gesher Galicia is a non-profit organisation that promotes and conducts Jewish genealogical and historical research for Galicia, a province of the former Austro-Hungarian Empire, which is today part of eastern Poland and southwestern Ukraine
German Jewish Special Interest Group
Our purpose is to present and preserve genealogical information about the Jewish communities in German-speaking regions and to trace our ancestors and better understand the lives they led.
Leo Baeck Institute - New York|Berlin
Free and open access to most collections. Many materials have been digitised and are available online.
Stiftung Neue Synogoge Berlin - Centrum Judaicum
(English and German) This is the new Synagogue Berlin-Centrum Judaicum site, which lists archival information.
Central Archives for Research on the History of the Jewish people
The CAHJP were established in 1939. They hold the archives of hundreds of Jewish communities, as well as of local, national and international Jewish organizations and the private collections.
Resources for Jewish Genealogical Research in the former Prussian Province of Posen
Includes a brief history of the area; links to archives in Poland, Germany and Israel; libraries and museums.
JewishGen
Our free, easy-to-use genealogy website features thousands of databases, research tools, and other resources to help those with Jewish ancestry research and find family members.
Jewish Heritage Europe
JewishEncyclopedia 1901-1906
This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations.
Jewish Records Indexing – Poland
An index to more than 3.2 million Jewish birth, marriage and death records from over 500 Polish towns, as well as indices from other sources, such as census records, legal notices, passports and newspaper announcements
Ozarow Cemetery Restoration Project - Poland
Story of the restoration of the Ozarow, Poland Jewish cemetery with photos and with translations of the tombstones
Slovakia, Church and Synagogue Books, 1592-1910 (FamilySearch)
Includes records from archives in Prešov, Bytča, Košice, Levoča, Banská Bystrica, Nitra and Bratislava.
The Jewish Museum of Greece
Rhodes Jewish Museum
Chios; Index of Surnames Appearing in the Book "Histoire des Juifs de Rhodes, Chio, Cos"
The Holocaust in Ioannina
History and names of Jews deported from the Community of Ioannina, Greece, 25 March 1944
Jewish Holocaust Victims of Thessaloniki (Salonika)
Provided here is a PDF file with 13,000 Jews (mostly all Sephardic) of whom are known to be deported and killed in and around 1943.
Name of those deported and killed by Nazi's from Rhodes in 1944

Available at the Library

Databases Available at the Library

While you are in the Library don't forget to check out our databases:

Ancestry.com (library edition) - for onsite use only
Find My Past - for onsite use only

Ask Us

Are you unable to come into the State Library of South Australia to undertake your research? You may like to consider using our Ask Us service.

European Resources for Family Historians: Jews in Europe

Introduction

Websites

Available at the Library

Databases Available at the Library

Ask Us

Ask us