Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The information on this page concentrates on how to locate family history related records and information in Poland. As modern-day Poland only came into being in 1918 you may also like to check the guide to Germany.
To trace family arriving in South Australia try our guide to immigration. If family arrived in Australia after 1940 passenger lists may be found at National Archives, as passenger lists came under Federal jurisdiction after 1940
Databases Available at the Library
While you are in the Library don't forget to check out our databases:
- Ancestry.com (library edition) - for onsite use only
- Find My Past - for onsite use only
- MyHeritage - available for home use (conditions apply)
Search the catalogue for more
Are you unable to come into the State Library of South Australia to undertake your research? You may like to consider using our Ask Us service.
Tips & Tricks for Polish Research
Resources available at the Library
Please note that these websites are not arranged in any particular order and some of them may not be available in English.
A website which focuses on the historical Polish Commonwealth from the 16th century to now.
Geneteka - baptisms, deaths & marriages
This database created by the Polish Genealogical Society contains over 10 million indexed records, many linked to digital images, from parishes across many regions of Poland. Select a region from the map to view available parishes.
Poland, Roman Catholic Church books, 1587-1976
Browse digital images of church books containing baptisms and births, marriages, burials and deaths for parishes in the Częstochowa, Gliwice, Radom, Tarnow, and Lublin Roman Catholic Dioceses of Poland. Dates and records available vary by diocese and parish. SCROLL DOWN TO "P" FOR POLAND.
Databases in State Archives (Szukajwarchiwach.pl)
This free online repository of digitised vital and civil records from the state archives of Poland is being created by the National Archives of Poland. Detailed directions with screenshots for navigating this Polish website are available on FamilySearch -- 'How to Use Digitized Records on the Polish State Archives' Website.
Browse the indexed birth certificates from the Archives of the Diocese of Radom, Poland. ArchiwaOnline.pl also find resources Archives of the Archdiocese of Czestochowa, the Archdiocesan Archives in Gliwice, Archives of the Diocese of Plock, Archdiocesan Archive in Wrocław, the Archive of the Metropolitan Curia in Krakow, the Central State Historical Archive of Ukraine in Lviv, the Lithuanian State Historical Archives in Vilnius.
Church Registers of Klein Tinz
Transcriptions of the Catholic church registers of Klein Tinz, Breslau, Silesia, Prussia from 1791 to 1900. The village is known today as Tyniec Maly, Poland. In English and German. Contains over 3,000 individual records.
The All Galicia Database
Covers everything from birth, death, marriage and divorce records to phone books, school and landowner records, all from the former Austro-Hungarian province of Galicia, which today is part of eastern Poland and western Ukraine. Although Gesher Galicia's focus is researching Jewish roots in this region, the diverse community sources of information in this database also contain names that span all the ethnic and religious groups who lived in the area, so not everyone listed in this database will necessarily be Jewish.
Cyndi's List - Poland births, deaths and marriages
A list of Genealogy websites focusing on Polish births, deaths and marriages.
Jewish Records Indexing – Poland
An index to more than 3.2 million Jewish birth, marriage and death records from over 500 Polish towns, as well as indices from other sources, such as census records, legal notices, passports and newspaper announcements.
Polish Genealogy Databases Online
Research Polish ancestry online with this collection of Polish genealogy databases and indexes from Poland, the United States and other countries.