Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Australian Joint Copying Project: State Library of South Australia holdings

A guide to the holdings of the State Library of South Australia

Explaining our collection

The State Library of South Australia's holdings of microfilm were initially selected so as not to overlap with those held by State Records. Recently a selection of reels have been purchased that do have South Australian content.  However, on the whole the Library's emphasis is not South Australian material. The Library holds material of significance to Australia's early history, particularly that of New South Wales and Tasmania.

Topics covered include:

  • convicts of New South Wales and Tasmania
  • Governors' despatches
  • Royal Marines
  • convict ships' log books and medical registers
  • New South Wales Corps Courts Martial
  • miscellaneous diaries and journals.

Although the Library's AJCP collection holds much of interest to the family historian tracing early New South Wales and Tasmanian connections, there is no AJCP generated surname index. The State Library of Queensland and the National Archives of Ireland have indexed individual convicts and links to these databases have been provided.  Researchers will need patience as the quality of records varies. 

Researchers will need to use the Australian Joint Copying Project Handbooks to ascertain the coverage of each film. These volumes are shelved in the Family History area at 994 A938.  There is a separate volume for each PRO agency, such as the Colonial Office, War Office etc.  Relevant extracts from these Handbooks have also been added to this guide for your convenience.

Films not held by the Library can be obtained on interlibrary loan from the National Library of Australia for a standard fee.  Please enquire at the Information Desk about this option.  A large range of microfilm from both the PRO and M Series are available for use at the Flinders University Library, here in South Australia (though not available for interlibrary loan).  The State Library's AJCP collection is shelved with other microfilms in the Family History area. Arrangement on the shelves is by Series (PRO, then M), Class (agency), then reel number.

To check the Library's reel holdings go to the blue tab above and select from the drop-down:

PRO Series

  • Admiralty
  • Colonial Office
  • Home Office
  • War Office

M Series

  • Irish Transportation Records