Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The information on this page concentrates on how to locate family history related records and information in Norway.
To trace family arriving in South Australia try our guide to immigration. If family arrived in Australia after 1940 passenger lists may be found at National Archives, as passenger lists came under Federal jurisdiction after 1940.
National Archives of Norway - Digital Archive
The Digital Archives offer online access to digital archive material. Here you can search databases/tables, read transcripts and browse digital images as well as listen to digitised sound from the archives.
Please note that these websites are not arranged in any particular order and some of them may not be available in English
Tips & tricks for Norwegian Research
Resources available at the Library
Genealogical guidebook & atlas of Norway
912.481 S647 b Family History Collection
Norwegian research guide
929.1072 H566 b Family History Collection
Tracing your Baltic, Scandinavian, Eastern European, Middle Eastern ancestry online: Finnish, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Icelandic, Estonian, Latvian, Polish, Lithuanian, Greek, Macedonian, Bulgarian, Armenian, Hungarian, Eastern European, Middle East
929.1 H325 Family History Collection
Worldwide family history
929.1 C976 (Small books) General Reference Collection
Databases Available at the Library
While you are in the Library don't forget to check out our databases:
- Ancestry.com (library edition) - for onsite use only
- Find My Past - for onsite use only
- MyHeritage - available for home use (conditions apply)
Search the Catalogue for more
Are you unable to come into the State Library of South Australia to undertake your research? You may like to consider using our Ask Us service.