Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Directory Advertisement Example
Taken from the 1842-43 (Jackson's) County and City of Cork Post Office General Directory.
Cork City & County Directories Online
Some of the early directories are modern compilations of information sourced from within the Local Studies Department of the Cork City Libraries.
The links below will direct you to the website 'Cork: Past and Present'. As of December 2021 this website was unavailable due to a redesign. It is hoped that the site will return in early 2022. Check their website for progress.
Londonderry Corporation Minute Books 1673 - 1901
The earliest minute volume dates from 1673. The original hard-copy Corporation minute books are housed in two locations – volumes covering the period 1673 to 1841 reside at (Public Records Office of Northern Ireland) PRONI in Belfast, while the later volumes from 1841 to 1969 are kept in the Foyle Valley Railway Museum. To enable increased access to the 1673-1901 part of the early minute book collection, a partnership was established in December 2009 between PRONI and the Derry City Council Archive to produce digital copies which could be accessed online. This online resource is the product of the partnership.
Each minute book begins with the date of the meeting of the Common Council and a list of those members in attendance.
Records of Freeman extracted from the Minute Books
Freemen were originally members of the City craft guilds. However by the mid eighteenth century the Freemen were practically semi-hereditary and it was a closely controlled group consisting of those entitled by birth, apprenticeship, marriage or purchase or those granted it by a favour. Freemen were often not resident in the City and rarely came from a merchant or commercial background
Available at the Library
Directory of Ireland 1868
IRE/DIR/1868 Microfiche - Family History Collection
Directory of Ireland 1877
IRE/DIR/1877 Microfiche - Family History Collection
The gentleman's and citizen's almanack : compiled by Samuel Watson for the year of our Lord 1794.
Being second after leap-year... containing, the days of the year and month; week-days; sun's rising and setting; moon's age and changes; a table of equation; the times of high water at Dublin-Bar ... the marriages and deaths of the princes of Europe; the names of the Lord Lieutenant, of His Majesty's most honourable Privy Council, and of the Lords and Commons of Parliament ... ..
Directory of Ireland, 1811
IRE/DIR/1811 Microfiche - Family History Collection
Directory of Ireland, 1815
IRE/DIR/1815 Microfiche - Family History Collection
Directory of Ireland, 1832
IRE/DIR/1832 Microfiche - Family History Collection
Directory of Ireland 1833
IRE/DIR/1833 Microfiche - Family History Collection
Directory of Ireland 1840
IRE/DIR/1840 Microfiche - Family History Collection
Directory of Ireland 1845
IRE/DIR/1845 Microfiche - Family History Collection
Index to Griffith's Valuation of Ireland 1848-1864
References more than one million individuals who occupied property in Ireland between 1848 and 1864
Available via the State Library of SA's subscription to Ancestry.com (Library Edition) search Ireland - householder's Index
International land records : Irish flax growers, 1796
"In 1796 the Irish Linen Board published a list of nearly 60,000 individuals who received awards for planting between one and five acres of flax .... The 'Flax Grower's List' reproduced in this Family Archive, is an extremely useful genealogical record since virtually no Irish census of the nineteenth century has survived .... "
Available via the State Library of SA's subscription to Ancestry.com (Library Edition)
Tithe defaulters Ireland, 1831
Includes County Waterford, Tipperary, Laois, Offaly, Carlow, Meath & Kerry, Cork, Kilkenny, Wexford and Louth
IRE/Tithe/1 Microfiche - Family History area
Find My Past - Directories
The State Library of South Australia subscribes to the Find My Past database which may be accessed within the Library. This database contains:
- George Bassett, County Down Guide and Directory for 1886
- George Bassett, Kilkenny City and County Guide and Directory for 1884
- George Bassett, Limerick City and County and Principal Towns in the Counties of Clare, Tipperary and Kerry for 1881
- George Bassett, Louth County Guide and Directory for 1886
- George Bassett, The Book of Antrim (1888)
- George Bassett, The Book of County Armagh (1988)
- George Bassett, Wexford County Guide and Directory for 1885
- Guy's Directory of Munster, 1893
- Guy's Limerick Directory, 1912
- Harvey's Waterford Almanac and Directory for 1866
- Henderson's Belfast Directory for 1850
- Henry & Coughlan's General Directory of Cork and Munster for 1867
- I. Slater, National Commercial Directory of Ireland (1846)
- Ireland Medical Directory 1852
- Ireland, Thom's Directory, 1844-1900
- James Alexander Henderson, The Belfast and Province of Ulster Directory for 1856
- John Watson Stewart, The Gentleman's and Citizen's Almanack for the year 1814
- Leet's Directory, 2nd ed., 1814
- Macloskie's Directory of Fermanagh, 1848
- Matier's Belfast Directory for 1835-6
- Pettigrew & Coulton, Dublin Almanac & General Register of Ireland, 1845
- Pettigrew & Coulton, Dublin Almanac & General Register of Ireland, 1835-1845
- Pettigrew & Coulton, Dublin Almanac & General Register of Ireland, 1835
- Pigot & Co, City of Dublin and Hibernian Provincial Directory, 1824
- Quakers Annual Monitor 1849
- Shearman's Directory of Waterford, Kilkenny and The Southeast, 1839
- Slater's Royal National Commercial Directory of Ireland, 1870
- Slater's Royal National Commercial Directory of Ireland, 1881
- Slater's Royal National Directory of Ireland, 1894
- Sligo Independent Newspaper, County Directory, Almanac and Guide, 1889
- The King's County Directory, 1890
- The Post Office Annual Directory and Calendar, Dublin, 1843
- The Post Office Dublin Directory and Calendar for 1858
- The Sligo Chronicle Almanac and Directory for 1878
- The Treble Almanac, 1812, 1818, 1822 and 1829
- Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880
- Thom's Irish Almanac and Official Directory of Ireland, 1868
- Thom's Official Directory of Ireland, 1910
- Treble Almanack and Dublic Directory, 1783
Street Directories 1819 - 1900 online
The digitised street directories featured on this website consist of original volumes held by the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI) covering the years 1819 to 1900.
They are searchable by keyword and year.