Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Shipping and immigration 1940-1989
From 1940 immigration came under federal government control. Information for arrivals from this time is available in a number of resources, the most comprehensive records are held by the National Archives of Australia, covering the period up to 1989.
The National Archives Passenger arrival lists 1897-1966 are searchable online.
Information for later arrivals can be obtained by applying to the National Archives, whose South Australia office is located in the State Library and is open Wednesday to Friday, 10-5.
South Australian passenger arrivals since 1940
Passenger index 1925-1956
Produced from a computer database of passenger arrivals available at the South Australian Maritime Museum. Compiled from sources held in the State Library of South Australia Family History Collection for the period 1925-1940, and from passenger lists, 1941-1956, held in the National Archives, South Australia.
South Australian passenger arrivals 1940-1959
An index of passengers arriving in South Australia Transcribed from original passenger lists held by the Australian National Archive from the South Australian Maritime Museum database
Boat load of dreams : journeys by European immigrant workers, 1947-1994
A project by the United Trades and Labor Council about the Woodside Immigration Centre.
National Archives of Australia Name Search
Allows you to search immigration and naturalisation records for individuals
World War II Refugees
These passenger lists contain individuals and families that migrated to Australia during and after World War II from various European Countries including Germany, Hungary, Russia, Ukraine, Latvia, Poland, Czechoslovakia, Romania, etc. Most passengers are World War II refugees or displaced persons. Many of these ships were chartered by the International Refugee Organisation.
Italian Historical Society
The Italian Historical Society was established in 1980 to collect, preserve and promote the history of Italian immigration to Australia.
The South Australian Maritime Museum has compiled the Passengers in History database recording 328,000 arrivals in SA between 1836 and 1964. It also includes references to individual ships' voyages from the Log of Logs publications.