Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Centennial Park Cemetery
This search site is available to check on details for people buried or memorialised at Centennial Park. Centennial Park is the largest cemetery in South Australia and the records are kept so up to date that you can find people who were buried yesterday.
Adelaide Cemeteries Authority
West Terrace, Cheltenham, Enfield and Smithfield Memorial Park cemeteries.
State Records of South Australia
Anything that is deemed to be a South Australian Government record is held by the State Records of South Australia. This includes school records, police records, destitute asylum records and hospital records.
Help for Australians with their family history research and presentation and for people beyond Australia to research within Australia.
South Australian Births, Deaths and Marriages Office
This site explains how to get a birth, death or marriage certificate.
Family History South Australia
This free site contains lots of information relating to early South Australian colonists. These include passenger lists up to 1853, marriages 1836 to 1852, cemetery records, people who went from South Australia to the goldfields, land purchases by credit schemes and much more.
South Australian Genealogy and Heraldry Society (Genealogy SA)
This site contains indexes to the resources held by the Society and their catalogue. It does not give in depth information but is designed to tell you if the Society holds the record. You then need to go to their library to access the records, for which a cost is incurred by non-members.
Developed by the State Library of South Australia, this multimedia website highlights South Australia's people, places, issues and events from the colony's beginnings to now.
Each state has websites specific to their collections and resources. Below are just a few links in case your search leads you interstate.
Browse Australian cemeteries by state.
Australian War Memorial
This website has information about people who fought in various wars as part of the Australian Army and in some cases includes photographs.
Historic Australian Newspapers
Search historic Australian newspapers from 1803 - 1954.
National Archives of Australia
This site gives access to all the records of Australians who fought in World War One and some for the Second World War. It also has passenger lists for people arriving in Fremantle by ship between January 1921 and January 1950 as well as those arriving by plane 1944 to January 1950.
National Library of Australia
This site has links to Australian family history and selected genealogy websites.
This is an index to death notices appearing in current Australian newspapers. It also includes some funeral notices, probate notices and obituaries.
Web Sites for Genealogists
An Australian gateway site for tracing your family history.
Commonwealth War Graves Commission
The Register of War Dead is the Commission's database listing the 1.7 million men and women of the Commonwealth forces who died during the two world wars and the 23,000 cemeteries, memorials and other locations worldwide where they are commemorated.
Cyndi's lists of genealogy sites on the internet.
Free Family History, Family Tree, and Genealogy records and resources from around the world.
An ongoing project to transcribe the Civil Registration index of births, marriages and deaths for England and Wales, and to provide free Internet access to the records.
Getting started in genealogy and family history.
National Archives (UK)
A guide to resources to help you trace your family tree, using records held at The National Archives (UK) and elsewhere.
Researching overseas- online courses
The following classes are provided online by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Learn the basic methods and key resources to start your overseas family history research.
Genealogical information pages for England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man.
Websites and your family history
Over the last few years the amount of family history information available via the Internet has increased at a rate never seen before and there is more being added every day by organisations and individuals. Websites specifically dedicated to genealogy are now becoming the norm. On this page are just a few of the organisations and search subjects that you may find helpful.
Remember however, that just because you cannot find something on the Internet it does not mean that it does not exist. Many institutions and organisations have not digitised their collections and you may still have to search for answers beyond the digital realm.
NB. some websites require you to subscribe to access their information. Check with your local library as many libraries now subscribe to popular genealogy databases.
Beginning your family history
Getting started in genealogy and family history
Tips and tricks to get the most out of your Family History Research. Directed mainly at those researching in the UK and Ireland, however many of the principles of research apply to Family History research everywhere.
Family history video clips
This series of video clips is provided by the UK National Archives and give general and specific information about how to tackle at family history and the research tools that you need
Searching for SA births, deaths & marriages from home
In March 2012 Genealogy SA published extracts from the South Australian births, deaths and marriages online. The information is equivalent to indexes published online by most Australian states. Information about these and other databases can be found at the Genealogy SA website.
The full indexes are available on CDROM and available in the State Library of South Australia, many public libraries and other state libraries across Australia. The State Library is open daily, but if you are unable to visit, we invite you to submit a query via our Ask Us Service.
South Australian immigration
All vessels into South Australian ports 1836-1843
List of ships arriving in South Australia, but does not include passengers.
Bound for South Australia - passenger lists 1836 - 1851
This CD contains virtually every passenger list for the 3000 overseas and local ships that came to South Australia between 1836-1851 plus a host of additional information (individual names, ages, occupations etc) for many of the 60,000 local and overseas families and individual passengers who came to South Australia between 1836-1851.
Highland and Island Emigration Society
Between 1852 and 1857 nearly 5000 people came from Scotland to Australia, sponsored by the Highland and Island Emigration Society. These records from the National Archive of Scotland are sorted by ship and destination.
The Horner index was compiled by Sally Horner from the "Register" newspaper and is an alphabetical list by passenger of departures from South Australia directly for overseas between 1836-1887. It does not list interstate or intrastate departures.
Home access to databases
The State Library of South Australia has developed a range of Library Guides which will guide you in the use of our resources as well as other websites and online resources specific to the topic of each library guide. These Library Guides can be accessed from home.
The State Library also provides free home access to some of the family history databases including 'Nineteenth Century British Newspapers', and 'The Times Digital Archive'. Register online to access these databases in the privacy of your own home.