Architectural plan of Northgate House. BRG 359/1 (Click for a larger/zoomable version)
The State Library holds an extensive archival collection, which may provide some useful resources for researching the history of a house or its occupants. Some of the records that might be of interest include; architectural plans and drawings, films, oral histories, maps, video recordings, personal diaries and journals, and photographs. Listed below are some examples of records we hold in our collection that can be useful for this type of research. It is important to keep in mind that while our collection is extensive, you may not find information that relates directly to your house/property or the previous families, landowners and tenants. Instead some of the information you discover in these collections will allow you to imagine the types of stories and lives that may have unfolded in your house. If you are struggling to find any records that directly relate to your house or suburb, use the information that you have gathered such as dates, and personal details of previous occupants to search beyond and create a story of what was likely to have occurred. See our Archival Collection library guide, for more information.
Archival Sources:
Australia 1938 Oral History Project. OH 21. Interviews conducted of 60 people who were, in the main, either living in or around the eastern suburbs (Norwood, Kensington, Burnside) and the inner western suburbs (Hindmarsh, Hilton, Brompton) in 1938. 1981-1983.
Bonython, John. D 5105(T). Classical houses of South Australia (research paper), 1968.
John S. Chappel. BRG 346. Records of architectural practice of John S. Chappel Pty. Ltd., comprising architectural plans, articles, scrapbooks and papers relating to architecture, town planning, heritage and Adelaide City Council, etc., 1953-2003. Click here to view digitised items from this collection.
Original architectural drawings by Albert S. Conrad. PRG 891/1. Original drawings and plans for public/commercial buildings, private residences and non-commissioned work, 1895-1929.
Plans by English and Soward, English and Rees, and Garlick and Jackman. BRG 238/1. Plans by English and Soward, English and Rees, and Garlick and Jackman, comprising residences, warehouses, churches, hotels clubrooms, etc., 1871-1947.
Plans drawn by J. A. Tillet. PRG 353/2. Architectural plans drawn by architect John Andrew Tillet, 1901-1914.
Schenk, John. D 6956(T). Concrete houses of Walter Charles Torode (research paper), 1987.
Woods Bagot Pty. Ltd. BRG 18. Business records of Woods Bagot Architects comprising letter books, account books, partnership records, photographs, brochures, plans and drawings, and list of works executed, 1874, 1882-1975.
The State Library has an extensive photographic collection. A search will reveal if we have any old photographs of your house or its previous owners. If not, you may want to extend your search to the street name or the town/suburb.
The State Library receives the majority of its photographic collection by donation. Because of this, we may have many photographs depicting your town or suburb, or few. To search for these photos you can perform a keyword search of the suburb of your choice, or street name (e.g., 'Goolwa').
Select 'Pictorial' from the drop down menu. Browse list of relevant results and click link to view images.
Or
Go to our Image Server. Search for the suburb (e.g., Goolwa) to find relevant images. Note that results will be less precise than first method, but easier to browse.
To search for photographs outside of our collection, you may want try the following options:
Thornbury, House. B 26576 (Click for a larger/zoomable version)