Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SAILIS: South Australian Integrated Land Information System: Home

Land Title records

Introduction

SAILIS is the database of digitised South Australian land title records post the Real Property (Torrens Title) Act of 1858.

The database was created largely for internal use by the South Australian Land Titles Office, which was sold to a private company in 2018.

Searching is free and copies of most original land title documents for the period 1858-1992 may be viewed, copied and down loaded for personal study and research.

Land Title

Tracing the History of a House

Our library guide, Tracing the history of a house, provides some great information and resources to help you explore and trace the history of your home. Whether you are interested in a brief search or a detailed search regarding the history of your home, this guide will provide valuable information on how to get started.

Using this guide you will be able to search amongst a wide range of physical and digital resources that are available at the State Library of South Australia, to uncover interesting facts about your home and previous owners or tenants. Using the information you have gathered from SAILIS can be a great starting point to uncovering more information about the history of your home and the people that lived there.

Using SAILIS

Explore the instructions we have provided for searching and accessing historic land titles using the SAILIS database.

If you prefer a visual step-by-step tutorial, below are two videos created by SAILIS.

The first video shows you how to conduct a historical name index search using the SAILIS database. This tutorial is most useful for when you already know the name of a previous landowner, and an idea of when they owned the property. 

The second video shows you how to search for a title history in the database. It shows you the different ways the SAILIS database can be searched to find information on the title history of a property. If you only have the street address for the property, and no other information, this video will show you how to use that information in their database to find information relating to the certificate of title and the title history.

If you are interested in exploring some more content related to SAILIS, they have created a playlist of tutorials available on their YouTube channel. Like the two videos featured above, these videos provide step-by-step instructions on how to search, find documents and information using the SAILIS database.

SAILIS have also compiled a list of their frequently asked questions, which may provide useful information about using the database and their resources.