The State Library of South Australia has a large selection of photographs related to World War One.
The links below are to the largest collections of photographs within the collections. To discover even more photographs of ANZAC, Dardanelles, and Australian soldiers and campaigns, follow this link
|Adelaide||Torrens Island Concentration Camp||Red Cross||People and portraits|
|Keswick||Egypt 1||German POW camps||Keswick Hospital - Adelaide||AIF|
|Egypt 2||Turkish prisoners||Keswick Hospital - Egypt||Light horse|
|Egypt 3||Medical care|
View a selection of photographs from our collections in the State Library of South Australia's Flickr Albums. Some albums are specifically about World War 1 and others contain images from other conflicts in addition to World War 1.
The Chamberlain Collection features a series of glass plate negatives of soldiers who served in the First World War. The collection was donated to the State Library on 13 May 1986 by Mr and Mrs H.B. Chamberlain of Mosman, NSW.
499 glass plate negatives have been digitised and made available at high resolution via the South Australians of World War I Flickr photo group.
Herbert Barron Chamberlain was born in Sydney, NSW on 7 February 1921 and educated at North Sydney Boy's High School. Before World War 2 he was employed by a Japanese trading company. On 21 July 1942 he enlisted in the 2nd Australian Imperial Force and rose to the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel in the 2/5th Infantry Battalion based in New Guinea.
In August 1945 he married Yvonne Patricia Strawhan of Dulwich, South Australia.
He re-enlisted in the Army in the 1950s and served on ships transporting supplies between Australia and Vietnam. On retirement he joined the Mosman RSL, serving as its president between 1990 and 1994.
He died on 19 March 1996 and was survived by his wife, two daughters, Robyn and Anne, and son, Clive.
Information drawn from obituary in The Daily Telegraph, Tuesday 26 March, 1996, p 47, and other sources.
South Australian photo historian Ron Blum donated a collection of glass plate negatives of World War 1 soldiers to the State Library. Ron was able to provide valuable evidence as to the provenance of the negatives he owned, which are similar in many aspects to the Library's Chamberlain Collection.
State Records of South Australia holds a collection of close to 3000 photographic portraits of soldiers, sailors and nurses who took part in the First World War. These photographs were collected by the administration department of the then Public Library, Museum and Art Gallery of South Australia from 1918 to 1952. Each photograph is accompanied by a ‘particulars sheet’ giving full name, date of birth, date of enlistment, trade or calling, birthplace, address prior to enlistment, rank, number, unit and distinctions. An index to the photographs can be found through State Records' catalogue.