Skip to main content

Catherine Helen Spence: 1891-1892

A guide to Catherine Helen Spence featuring writings about her and a chronological bibliography of her works.

1891-1892

1891  
  National or compulsory providence. Proceedings of the Second Australasian Conference on Charity, held in Melbourne from 17th. to 21st. November, 1891. pp. 77-85. Robt. S. Brain, Government Printer, Melbourne. [Lecture read by Miss Spence.]
January 24 The December reviews. Register, pp. 5h-6ab. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
February 23 The January reviews. Register, p. 6a-d. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
February 28 The January reviews. Observer, p. 41a-b. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
March 11 The women's suffrage league. Evening Journal, p. 3c. [Report of meeting, Miss Spence presiding. Biographical material.]
March 11 The women's suffrage league. Register, p. 7h. [Report of meeting, Miss Spence presiding. Biographical material.]
April 1 The February reviews. Register, p. 6d-g. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
April 11 Strike matters in the reviews. Observer, p. 41a-b. [Extracts from 'February Reviews', Register, 1 April 1890. Labour.]
May 4 The March reviews. Register, p. 6b-d. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
May 9 Religious subjects in the reviews. Observer, p. 41a-b. [Extracts from 'March Reviews', Register, 4 May 1890. Religion.]
June 1 The April reviews. Register, p. 6c-e. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
June 3 The women's suffrage question. Deputation to the Prime Minister. Evening Journal, p. 4d-e. [Includes report of speech by Miss Spence.]
June 3 The women's suffrage question. Deputation to the Prime Minister. Register, p. 7f-g. [Includes report of speech by Miss Spence.]
June 5 Woman's suffrage. Register, p. 7d. [Letter by C. H. Spence.]
June 6 The women's suffrage question. Deputation to the Prime Minister. Observer, p. 35c-e. [Includes report of speech by Miss Spence.]
June 13 Women's suffrage. "On this subject Miss Spence writes. . ." Evening Journal, p. 3c. [Letter by Miss C. H. Spence.]
July 3 The May reviews. Register, p. 6a-c. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
July 11 The May reviews. Observer, p. 41a-c. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
July 28 The June reviews. Register, p. 6d-e. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
July 30 Single electorates . Evening Journal, p. 3h. [Letter by C. H. Spence. Representation.]
July 30 Single electorates . Register, p. 6e. [Letter by C. H. Spence. Representation.]
August 31 The July reviews. Register, p. 6c-d. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
September 28 The August reviews. Register, p. 6b-c. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
November 6 Second Australasian conference on charity. Evening Journal, p. 3h. [Letter by Edward E. Morris, President of the Conference, mentioning Miss Spence. Biographical fragment.]
November 6 Second Australasian conference on charity. Register, p. 3h. [Letter by Edward E. Morris, President of the Conference, mentioning Miss Spence. Biographical fragment.]
November 9 The September reviews. Register, p. 3g-h. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
November 9 Superfine needlework. Register, p. 6c. [Letter by C. H. Spence. Education.]
(November 13 Faery stories. Register, p. 6b. [Unsigned review of Faery Stories by Charles L. Marson. This review contains comments on fairy tales and children's reading very similar to those in Spence's many articles on children's literature. Australian children's literature.]
(November 21 Miscellaneous reviews. Faery stories. Observer, p. 41a. [Unsigned review of Faery Stories by Charles L. Marson. This review contains comments on fairy tales and children's reading very similar to those in Spence's many articles on children's literature. Australian children's literature.]
(November 28 Robert Browning. Observer, p. 41a-c. [Unsigned review of Life and Letters of Robert Browning, by Mrs Sutherland Orr. London, Smith, Elder and Co., 1891. The knowledge of the Brownings and the interest shown in Elizabeth Barrett Browning's poetry, together with the fact that the review ends with one of Spence's favourite quotations, the one used to conclude her own autobiography, leads me to believe that this review is by Spence. Literature. ]
December 7 The October reviews. Register, p. 7c-d. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
December 12 The October reviews. Observer, p. 41c. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
December 31 The November reviews. Register, p. 6f-h. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
1892  
January 12 [In 'News of the Day'.] Equal representation or effective voting. Age, p. 5b. [Report of lecture by Miss Spence to the Trades Hall Council in Melbourne.]
January 14 Equal representation, or effective voting. Evening Journal, p. 2b. [Report of lecture by Miss Spence to the Trades Hall Council in Melbourne.]
January 14 Equal representation, or effective voting. Register, p. 5c. [Report of lecture by Miss Spence to the Trades Hall Council in Melbourne.]
February 10 State children's council. Register, p. 6h. [Report of meeting of State Children's Council with comments on Miss Spence's work in Melbourne. Biographical fragment.]
February 12 The December reviews. Register, p. 6b-d. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
February 18 Equal representation. Register, p. 4e-f. [Leader discussing Miss Spence's lecture at the Democratic Club. Biographical material.]
February 18 Effective voting or equal representation. Register, p. 6a-b. [Report of lecture by Miss C. H. Spence at the Democratic Club, Flinders Street, on 17 February 1892.]
February 22 The January reviews. Register, pp. 5h-6ab. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
February 23 Effective voting. Register, p. 7h. [Letter by Catherine H. Spence.]
February 27 The riddler. New problems. Prize problems. Evening Journal, p. 6e. [Miss Spence as judge of puzzles. Biographical fragment.]
February 27 Effective voting or equal representation. Observer, p. 6c-d. [Report of lecture by Miss C. H. Spence at the Democratic Club, Flinders Street, on 17 February 1892.]
February 27 The riddler. New problems. Prize problems. Observer, p. 44b-c. [Miss Spence as judge of puzzles. Biographical fragment.]
March 4 East Torrens school board. Evening Journal, p. 3f. [Report of activities. Biographical material.]
March 4 East Torrens school board. Register, p. 6h. [Report of activities. Biographical material.]
March 10 Effective voting. Register, p. 7b. [Letter by C. H. Spence.]
March 16 Effective voting. Evening Journal, p. 3d. [Report of lecture by Miss Spence at Port Adelaide Congregational Church.]
March 16 Effective voting. Register, p. 7c. [Report of lecture by Miss Spence at Port Adelaide Congregational Church.]
March 24 The February reviews. Register, p. 6d-f. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
April 13 Effective voting. Register, p. 5b. [Report of meeting in the Semaphore Town Hall on 11 April 1892 to discuss Miss Spence's method of voting. Biographical fragment.]
April 29 The March reviews. Register, p. 6b-d. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
May 4 Effective voting. Public trial of Hare's system. Evening Journal, p. 3h. [Report of trial and Miss Spence's activities. Biographical material.]
May 4 Effective voting. Register, p. 4f-g. [Leader in praise of Miss Spence's activities. Biographical material.]
May 4 Public trial of Hare's system. Register, p. 6e. [Report of trial and Miss Spence's activities. Biographical material.]
May 5 Effective voting at Port Adelaide. Register, p. 5d. [Miss Spence and the Hare system. Biographical material.]
May 6 'The declaration of the poll'. Advertiser, p. 4d-f. [Leader congratulating Miss Spence. Effective voting. Biographical material.]
May 6 The transferable vote. Advertiser, p. 6b. [Report of meeting at the Semaphore Town Hall on 5 May 1892, including speech by Miss Spence. Effective voting.]
May 6 Effective voting. Declaration of the poll. Evening Journal, p. 3f. [Report of meeting at the Semaphore Town Hall on 5 May 1892, including speech by Miss Spence.]
May 6 Effective voting. Register, p. 4h. [Third leader congratulating Miss Spence on her effective voting campaign. Biographical material.]
May 6 Effective voting. Declaration of the poll. Register, p. 7a. [Report of meeting at the Semaphore Town Hall on 5 May 1892, including speech by Miss Spence.]
May 7 "Miss Spence is to be heartily congratulated. . ." Observer, pp. 25e, 26a. [Paragraph congratulating Miss Spence on her effective voting campaign. Biographical material.]
May 7 Effective voting. Register, p. 7a. [Letter by C. H. Spence, A Colonist of 1839.]
May 9 The democratic ideal. No. I. Register, p. 6a-c. [Article by A Colonist of 1839. Social issues.]
May 14 The democratic ideal. No. I. Evening Journal, p. 6a-c. [Article by A Colonist of 1839. Social issues.]
May 14 Effective voting. Observer, p. 27b. [Letter by C. H. Spence, A Colonist of 1839.]
May 14 The democratic ideal. No. I. Observer, p. 41c-e. [Article by A Colonist of 1839. Social issues.]
May 17 Woman's suffrage league. Annual meeting. Evening Journal, p. 4b-c. [Report includes speech by Miss Spence.]
May 17 Woman's suffrage league. Annual meeting. Register, p. 7d. [Report includes speech by Miss Spence.]
May 18 Effective voting. Evening Journal, p. 4d. [Report of lecture given at College Park Congregational Schoolroom on 17 May 1892 by Miss C. H. Spence.]
May 18 Effective voting. Register, p. 6d-e. [Report of lecture given at College Park Congregational Schoolroom on 17 May 1892 by Miss C. H. Spence.
May 21 Woman's suffrage league. Annual meeting. Observer, p. 33d-e, 34a. [Report of meeting including speech by Miss Spence.]
May 21 Effective voting. Observer, p. 34a-b. [Report of lecture given at College Park Congregational Schoolroom on 17 May 1892 by Miss C. H. Spence.]
May 28 The democratic ideal. No II. Observer, pp. 41c-e, 42a. [Article by A Colonist of 1839. Social issues. Domestic servants.]
June 3 The democratic ideal. No II. Register, 6a-c. [Article by A Colonist of 1839. Social issues. Domestic servants.]
June 4 The democratic ideal. No. II. Evening Journal, p. 6a-c. [Article by A Colonist of 1839. Social issues. Domestic servants.]
June 10 [In 'Personal Pars'.] 'Miss Spence is writing. . .' Quiz, p. 6b. [Comment on' articles by Miss Spence. Biographical fragment.]
June 11 The April reviews. Register Supplement, p. 1a-b. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
June 13 "Effective voting". Register, p. 5d-e. [Report of meeting held at Norwood Town Hall on 11 June 1892, including lecture by Miss C. H. Spence.]
June 15 Effective voting. Evening Journal, p. 2f. [Letter by C. H. Spence.]
June 15 Effective voting. Register, p. 5h. [Letter by C. H. Spence.]
June 18 Effective voting. Observer, p. 38a-b. [Report of meeting held at Norwood Town Hall on 11 June 1892, including lecture by Miss C. H. Spence.]
June 23 The May reviews. Register, p. 6d-e. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
June 25 The April reviews. Observer, p. 41a. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
June 25 Effective voting. Register, p. 5d. [Miss Spence gave lecture at Unley Town Hall on 24 June 1892. Biographical fragment.]
June 30 Miss Spence and electoral reform. Register, p. 7d. [Letter by 'Doubtful'. Effective voting. Biographical material.]
July 1 Effective voting. Evening Journal, p. 4e. [Letter by C. H. Spence.]
July 1 Effective voting. Register, p. 7g. [Letter by C. H. Spence.]
July 9 Women's suffrage league. Appeal to the Government. A favourable reply. Register, p. 6f. [Report of deputation to the Treasurer on 8 July 1892, including speech by Miss Spence.]
July 16 Women's suffrage league. Observer, p. 31d. [Report of deputation to the Treasurer, including speech by Miss Spence.]
July 18 Anglo-colonial gossip. "C. H. S." Register, 6g. Extract from letter by C. H. S. to the Toronto Week. Biographical material.]
July 21 Miss C. H. Spence on labour and capital. Register, p. 5a. [Paragraph by Miss Spence correcting misrepresentation.]
July 30 The East Adelaide school board deputation. Register, p. 4h-5a. [Miss Spence's disagreement with the School Board. Biographical material.]
July 30 The June reviews. Register Supplement, p. 1a-b. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
August 6 Blumberg. Miss C. H. Spence. Observer, p. 32a. [Miss Spence delivered her first country lecture on effective voting at Blumberg on 5 August 1892. Biographical material.]
August 12 The ministerial ballot. A test of effective voting. Evening Journal, p. 3c. [Report of effective voting trial. Biographical material.]
August 12 The ministerial ballot. A test of effective voting. Register, p. 6a. [Report of effective voting trial. Biographical material.]
August 13 The democratic ideal. No. III. Register Supplement, p. 1a-c. [Article by C. H. Spence, A Colonist of 1839. Social issues.]
August 15 The ministerial ballot. Further examination of votes. Evening Journal, p. 3c. [Report of effective voting trial. Biographical material.]
August 15 The ministerial ballot. Further examination of votes. Register, p. 5g. [Report of effective voting trial. Biographical material.]
August 16 The ministerial ballot. A test of effective voting. Register, p. 6b-c. [Final report of voting trial. Biographical material.]
August 17 The recent ministerial ballot. Evening Journal, p. 4b. [Article by C. H. Spence. Effective voting.]
August 17 The recent ministerial ballot. Register, p. 6d. [Article by C. H. Spence. Effective voting.]
August 20 The democratic ideal. No. III. Evening Journal, p. 4b. [Article by C. H. Spence, A Colonist of 1839. Social issues.]
August 20 The recent ministerial ballot. Observer, p. 34d-e. [Article by C. H. Spence. Effective voting.]
August 27 [In 'Country News'.] Angaston, August 23. Observer, p. 15b. [Report of Miss Spence's lecture on effective voting. Biographical fragment.]
August 27 The democratic ideal. No. III. Observer, p. 41c-e, 42a. [Article by C. H. Spence, A Colonist of 1839. Social issues.]
September 3 The July reviews. Register Supplement, p. 1a-b. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
September 17 Proportional representation. Register, p. 5a. [Extracts from article by Miss Spence published in the Toronto Week.]
September 20 [In 'Latest News.'] Effective voting. Evening Journal, p. 2b. [Miss Spence and Toronto Week. Biographical material.]
September 20 Lecture at Glenelg. Register, p. 7h. [Report of meeting at Congregational Lecture Hall Glenelg, on 19 September 1892, including lecture on effective voting by Miss Spence.]
September 21 Effective voting. Register, p. 5b. [Miss Spence and Toronto Week. Biographical material.]
September 24 Adelaide benevolent and strangers' friend society. Annual meeting. Register Supplement, p. 2c. [Miss Spence appointed to committee. Biographical fragment.]
September 24 Lecture at Glenelg. Observer, p. 31c. [Report of meeting at Congrega-tional Lecture Hall Glenelg, on 19 September 1892, including lecture on effective voting by Miss Spence.]
October 1 The August reviews. Register Supplement, p. 1a-b. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
October 5 Effective voting. Register, p. 5e. [Report of Miss Spence's lecture at Wellington Square, North Adelaide on 4 October 1892. Her 'twenty-sixth public appearance on this subject'.]
October 8 The August reviews. Observer, p. 41d-e. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
October 17 Industrial peace. Register, p. 6b. [Article by C. H. Spence. Labour.]
October 24 The September reviews. Register, p. 6g-h. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
November 5 The September reviews. Observer, 41c-d. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
November 21 The October reviews. Register, p.7a-b. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
November 26 The October reviews. Observer, 41c-d. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
December 8 Woman's suffrage league. Register, p. 5e. [Request for Miss Spence to represent the league during her effective voting campaign. Biographical material.]
December 9 "The silent sea." Voice, p. 2a-b. [Review by C. H. S. of The Silent Sea. (By Catherine Martin.) Richard Bentley & Son, London, 1892. Australian literature.] [title not on Trove 01/2020]
December 9 Woman's suffrage and effective voting. Voice, p. 6a-c, 7a-c. [Report of lecture by C. H. Spence read at drawing room meeting at Glenelg.] [title not on Trove 01/2020]
December 10 Effective voting. Border Watch, p. 2d. [Leader discussing Miss Spence's views. Biographical material.]
December 10 Effective voting. Border Watch, p. 2g-h. Report of lecture by Miss Spence given at Institute Hall Mount Gambier on 8 December 1892. Biographical material.]
December 17 [In 'Country News'.] Bordertown, December 13. Observer, p. 25a. [Report of Miss Spence's lecture on effective voting. Biographical fragment.]
(December 24 'The silent sea." Observer, p. 41c-d. [Unsigned review of The Silent Sea. (By Catherine Martin.) This review has much in common with the signed review in Voice on 9 December 1892. It makes points consistent with Spence's attitudes and style. Australian literature.
December 30 [In 'Personal Pars'.] Miss C. H. Spence. . .' Quiz, p. 6a [Comment on Miss Spence's writings on effective voting. Biographical fragment.]
December 30 The November reviews. Register, p. 5f-g. [Unsigned article. Continuation of series.]
December 30 The Australian ballot as used in America [No. I]. Voice, p. 2a-c. [Article by C. H. Spence. Representation.] [title not on Trove 01/2020]