Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government and country information: Hansard

Australian state and federal governments and parliamentary publications; UN and country economic and political information.

South Australian Hansard

Hansard is the edited version of what is spoken in Parliament. Hansard reports form a complete record of parliamentary debates and questions.

The Library holds a complete set of the Official Reports of the Parliamentary Debates (Hansard) for both the South Australian House of Assembly and the Legislative Council, available in the Government Publication area. 

There are indexes in the front of the bound volumes which are divided into Indexes to subjects and Indexes to questions and speeches. The unbound issues have an alphabetical list of contents at the end, and separately published indexes in the same format as the bound volumes.

South Australian Hansard is also available on the website of the South Australian Parliament. (As of August 2021 their online archive went back as far as June 1973.)

Commonwealth Hansard

The Library has a set of the Official Hansard for both houses of the Australian Parliament up to mid 2013. The House of Representatives is bound in green; the Senate is bound in red.

There are indexes at the back of the bound volumes, divided into Indexes to speeches and Indexes to subjects. The latter uses broad subject categories such as Bills; Committees; Questions on Notice etc. 

Debates for both Houses House of Representatives Hansard and the Senate Hansard are available online from 1901. Historic Hansard provides Commonwealth of Australia parliamentary debates (1901-1980) presented in an easy-to-read format.

Internet access is available to the daily proof and official weekly versions of the House of Representatives & Senate Hansards.

Interstate Hansards

Parliamentary Debates can be found on the website for each State and Territory.

Available dates vary and are frequently added to.

The Library holds hard copy Parliamentary Debates for some States and Territories including Victoria, NSW, Western Australia, Queensland and the Northern Territory, although dates vary and holdings are incomplete. These are held in Offsite storage and can retrieved upon request, on Mondays and Thursdays. Library staff can assist with this.