LibGuides: Births, deaths and marriages: Other Countries

Births, deaths and marriage records from other countries

The State Library of South Australia concentrates on collecting and making available resources for South Australian family history. However we also hold resources for the UK and other countries.

Free UK websites

Parish Registers
Pre 1837 English parish records online
FreeBMD
Transcriptions form birth, death and marriage indexes for England and Wales 1837-1983

Where to apply for UK certificates

General Register Office England and Wales
English and Welsh local district register listings
Locate the district registrar and save. It is a cheaper alternative to applying to the General Register Office.
General register Office of Ireland (Eire)
General Register Office Northern Ireland
General Register Office for Scotland

Irish cemetery records

Gravestone inscriptions: Belfast
Microfiche
Gravestone inscriptions: County Down
Microfiche
Gravestone inscriptions, County Antrim
Microfiche
History from Headstones
Website of headstone transcriptions for Northern Ireland

Websites for overseas family history

Cyndi's list of genealogical sites
The most comprehensive online site for family history resources.
FamilySearch International Genealogical Index
A searchable online index of births, marriages and deaths which have either been transcribed from original sources or submitted by members.
Ancestry.com
This is the version of Ancestry that requires personal subscription. The library has Ancestry Library Edition, available onsite, free for those holding a current State Library card. Ancestry Library Edition is also available onsite at South Australian public libraries.
Scotlandspeople
This website is by personal subscription only.
British Newspaper Archive
British newspapers 1700- . Requires subscription to view articles but free to search.
BillionGraves
Website which uses modern technology to capture images of headstones together with GPS locations. Searchable by name.

Databases for overseas family history available at the State Library

Ancestry Library Edition
The State Library subscribes to this database for use in the Library only.
more...less...
Onsite access only.

Highlights include UK census records, English parish and probate records, Irish Tithe Applotment books 1823-1838, UK civil registration indexes 1837-1983, Pallot's Marriage Index 1780–1837, the Army Rolls of Honour, WW 1and WW2 and British telephone books 1880-1984.
FindMyPast
Database available at the State Library, onsite access only

Suggest a resource

If you would like to suggest a website or other resource, please Email us.

Births, deaths and marriages: Other Countries