Skip to main content

English & Welsh Resources for Family Historians: Introduction

The State Library of South Australia has a large number of resources that may assist you in tracing your English or Welsh ancestry. This guide also contains websites of interest, contact details for relevant organisations and tips & tricks.

About this guide

The purpose of this guide is to assist South Australians wishing to trace historical information about ancestors in either England or Wales.  This guide highlights resources available at the State Library of South Australia that may assist.  Also included are useful websites and links to organisations, archives, libraries and societies who may be of assistance to you in your search.  Each subject page also contains, where appropriate, tips and tricks for researching the relevant topic.

The majority of settlers who arrived in South Australia in 1836 where English, with a number of Welsh, Scottish and Irish settlers scattered among them.  Later a large number of the Lutheran faith arrived from Prussia and since then immigrants have arrived from all parts of the world.

If you are interested in trying to locate information in other areas of the world why not try our guides on:

European resources for family historians

Scandinavian resources for family historians

If you are looking for South Australian information on subjects such as immigration or births, deaths and marriages please use the links below.

Immigration to South Australia

South Australian Births, Deaths and Marriages

Please note that passenger lists into Australian after 1940 are the property of the Commonwealth and may be located via the National Archives of Australia.

General resources available at the Library

The resources below have been listed here because they cover such a wide range of information.  For more specific topics use the tabs above. 

Who we are

State Library of South Australia
Contact:
GPO Box 419
Adelaide SA 5001
(08) 8207 7250

Databases Available at the Library

While you are in the Library don't forget to check out our databases:

  • Ancestry.com (library edition) - for onsite use only
  • Find My Past - for onsite use only
  • World Vital Records - available for home use (conditions apply)
  • Times Digital Archive & 19th Century British Library newspapers - available for home use (conditions apply)

These databases contain records of English and Welsh births, deaths and marriages, divorces, obituaries, inquests, wills, census, parish registers, military records, family trees and so much more.