Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers available at the Library
Here are a variety of overseas newspapers held by the Library that may be of interest to the family historian.
Newspapers available for home access
The following newspapers are available to South Australian residents who register for home access with the State Library of South Australia. You can come in and register or register online.
Newspapers available via The National Library of Australia
The following newspapers are available to Australian residents for home access once you have registered with the National Library of Australia.
Historical Newspapers Online
You would be amazed at the types of information you can locate in historical newspapers about your family. A birth, death or marriage notice is not uncommon but how about an insolvency, a mention on the Queen's Honour list, a criminal conviction or a military promotion. Newspapers can also tell you what was happening on a day to day basis; things like the weather, sports, political issues and other items that may have been of interest to your ancestor.
NOTE: some of these links are to subscription sites or have conditions for access
Eighteenth Century Journals: a portal to newspapers and periodicals 1685 - 1815
A portal to newspapers and periodicals 1685 - 1815 available online for Australian residents via the National Library of Australia home access.
Guide to Scottish Newspaper Indexes
This searchable list provides details of Scottish newspaper titles that have an index. Also allows you to search by location for newspaper.
Internet Library of Early Journals
This free site provides digital copies of 18th and 19th century British journals including Gentlemen's Magazine, Notes and Queries and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine
Locate a Welsh newspaper
Search here on a place name and it will report on which newspapers cover the area and where extant copies are held
Nineteenth Century British newspapers
Note: This archive may be used within the State Library of South Australia or from home via the Library's home access user facility. Some conditions apply, including being a resident of South Australia.
The British Newspaper Archive
This Archive has 226+ titles online with 6.8+ million newspaper pages available. Titles date from 1700 to 1999. It is free to search with keyword, publication and browse by location searches available. Filtering options include date, newspaper, region, county and place. A search returns a sentence or two of the newspaper. A subscription is needed to access the digitised page. This site offers several subscription packages including a 12 month subscription (£79.95) which gives unlimited access to every page in the archive. Alternatively there are 30 day (3000 credits - £29.95), 7 day (600 credits - £9.95) and 2 day (500 credits - £6.95) pay-per-view packages. New material is being added to this site on a regular basis.
Whether you’re a keen genealogist, or just interested in finding out a bit more about the lives and times of your family, The Gazette holds a wealth of information to reconnect you to your past. Includes the Edinburgh Gazette, the London Gazette and the Belfast Gazette. (free to access)
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003
Available online for Australian residents via the National Library of Australia home access.
The Scotsman Digital Archive 1817 - 1950
Free keyword search facility and article reference available. To view articles a subscription is required.
The Sunday Times (London) 1822 - 2006
It includes every page, headline, feature, editorial and advertisement, viewed in its original published context. There are more than 600,000 pages all of which are keyword searchable. Note: This archive may be used within the Library or from home via the Library's home access user facility. Some conditions apply, including being a resident of South Australia.
The Word on the Street (Scotland) 1650 - 1910
The National Library of Scotland's online collection of nearly 1,800 broadsides lets you see for yourself what 'the word on the street' was in Scotland between 1650 and 1910. Crime, politics, romance, emigration, humour, tragedy, royalty and superstitions - all these and more are here. (free to access)
Times Digital Archive 1785 - 2007
This is a database containing facsimile images of every issue of the "world's newspaper of record" - The Times - from 1785 to 2007. It includes every page, headline, feature, editorial and advertisement, viewed in its original published context. There are more than 8 million individual articles which are all keyword searchable. Note: This archive may be used within the Library or from home via the Library's home access user facility. Some conditions apply, including being a resident of South Australia.
Welsh Newspapers Online 1804 - 1919
Hosted by the National Library of Wales. (free to access)