SA Newspapers: C-E

In 1903 James Walker established the forerunner to the current Plains Producer, which he named the Central Advocate. In 1926 it was purchased by Amy Henstridge, formerly of the Stanley Herald, Snowtown. At this time the newspaper was named the Wooroora Producer, and later became simply The Producer. The newspaper was suspended during the Second World War, but reopened in 1946. Roger Manuel and his wife Margaret purchased the newspaper in 1983. In 1992 it was renamed the Plains Producer. The newspaper has won the BankSA Award for the best newspaper with a circulation under 5,000 in 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2008. Its area of coverage extends form Snowtown in the north to Virginia in the south.

The Central Times was the title used during the 1970s by South Australia's oldest religious newspaper. This was established in 1864 as the South Australian Wesleyan Magazine. It was published by members of the Wesleyan Church, which later became the Methodist Church. In 1977 the Methodist Church joined with most Presbyterian and Congregational churches to become the Uniting Church of Australia. The historic event is recorded in this newspaper.

The Challenger newspaper was owned and edited by Mrs Rebecca McGregor, and published in Port Lincoln. Mrs McGregor and her sons owned the West Coast Recorder. It is a fascinating and outspoken socialist newspaper, produced at the height of the Great Depression. Both as a country newspaper and as a political voice, it is unique. The Challenger provided forthright opinions about a range of local, state and federal issues. The newspaper's title with its image of a knight on horseback set the tone. As well as fulsome political critiques, the Challenger contained news for Port Lincoln and the adjacent towns of Lock, Kimba, Wudinna and Tumby Bay. Social events were described alongside long columns reporting the activities of the local branches of the Labor Party, Country Party, and Liberal and Country League. The rifle club was well reported, along with church news, sports results, school news and obituaries.

This was the second religious newspaper published in South Australia. Henry Hussey was the instigator. The Rev William Nicholls, Pastor Thomas Playford and Samuel Reynell were the main co-contributors. Reynell and others wrote poetry for the paper. John Howard Clark, later editor of the Register, wrote under the pen name 'Laicus'. Rev JC Woods of the Unitarian Church was another contributor, while EG Day and others wrote about Swedenborgian (New Church) beliefs. Hussey saw the latter two groups as outside of his definition of 'pure Christianity' and he introduced some lively debates into the columns of his paper. The journal struggled financially and Hussey decided to discontinue it. He later worked for the Government Printer.

John McEwin was ordained as minister of the Hindmarsh Congregational Church in 1872, and in 1878 began producing an 'undenominational religious newspaper'. The popularity of the Christian Colonist was such that in 1884 McEwin was released from his parish work to run it full-time. The newspaper supported the temperance and social purity movements, Bible instruction and prayer in public schools, as well as broader social improvements such as the working men's blocks scheme and women's suffrage. It was against the British opium trade and state aid to religion.

The Chronicle newspaper (originally South Australian Weekly Chronicle) was established in 1858 by John Barrow as an adjunct to the Advertiser and competitor to the Adelaide Observer. It was originally intended as weekend reading, but after the Second World War focused increasingly on rural readers and agricultural topics. The women's pages of the twentieth century, written by Eleanor Barbour and Mary Broughton, were especially popular with readers. From 1902 a four-page photographic supplement was included. Photographic supplements were included intermittently from October 1895.

For a time the Chronicle published an edition for the south east districts of South Australia.

This was Adelaide's first religious periodical. It was largely aimed at an Anglican readership. It contains much about the contemporary debate about state aid to religion. It also includes suggested Sunday School teaching material, as well as Sunday School reports, articles about converting Jews to Christianity, and more general religious material. Reports from the Aboriginal mission at Port Lincoln also appear. The editor was Matthew Hale, the minister supervisor at the mission. Other contributors were also Anglican ministers, the Rev's Woodcock and Coombs.

City and country was the third short-lived newspaper established by land agent and politician, Ebenezer Ward, and the contents initially reflected his interest in land reform, education and agriculture. The newspaper lapsed after four months, was reinstated in a different format in January 1882, and horseracing became the main focus. The final issue was published by Charles McMullen, and contained a statement that Mr Ward had sold his interest in the newspaper and that in future it would be titled South Australian Times.

This Messenger Press title covers the Adelaide Central business area. Early journalists such as 'Ray Light' made this perhaps one of the company's more provocative titles at the time of its establishment.

This newspaper was published by the Adelaide City Council.

This newspaper was published by Messenger Press, in a slightly different format to their usual productions.

The Adelaide City Reporter was published to coincide with the 1984 Adelaide Festival of Arts. It's main intention was to provide information about the city for tourists and to generally promote Australian tourism. An interesting feature of the latter issues is a cartoon strip by Bob Dickenberg, depicting local radio personalities Barry Ion and Tony Pilkington ('Bazz and Pilko').

The first few issues of this newspaper were titled the Southern Yorke's Peninsula Clarion. For thirty years it ran in opposition to the Pioneer newspaper.

This newspaper was published by Adelaide members of the Australian Journalists' Association.

This is a continuation of the South East Kingston Leader. The newspaper was purchased by Richard Peake of the Narracoorte Herald, and in 2010 both newspapers were sold to Fairfax Media.

This newspaper summarised news from British colonies and other countries in which England had financial interests in the 1840s. It concentrates on news from South Australia, New South Wales, Canada and New Zealand. (Substantial coverage is given to the ‘mismanagement’ of New Zealand colonisation, in early 1845.) Early issues directed much criticism against the bungling of colonial administration by departments such as the Colonial Office. The newspaper reported enthusiastically on South Australia and its possibilities in early issues, and vehemently refuted derogatory articles in other London newspapers, mainly the Morning Chronicle. There are descriptions of the invention of the Ridley reaper (7 September 1844, p. 562), the explorations of Charles Sturt (30 August 1845, p. 543) the discovery of copper near Angaston (30 November 1844, p. 740), and a letter from Samuel Davenport to his father about a ‘subsoil plough’ he manufactured for his vineyard at Macclesfield. (1 February 1845, p. 63) There are also vehement attacks on the mishandling of South Australia's finances and immigration by the governors of this period. Proceedings in the English Parliament as they affected the colonies were reported.

David Gall was an early Adelaide printer. He published the Comet largely as an advertising medium. Concerned about the lack of employment for young men in Adelaide, Gall used the journal to promote his views on protectionism. He apparently believed this would be one means of increasing employment. While contemporaries referred to the Comet as a comic paper, only one presumed comic insert has survived.

This was a supplement to the Daily Commercial News, a newspaper covering national shipping. For a time the newspaper was published in Adelaide.

Common Sense was a small magazine produced by journalists Theodore Argles and Frederick Banbury. The name was taken from the 1776 pamphlet by Thomas Paine which promoted American Independence. The only known issue contains interesting descriptions of the police court (a haunt of Adelaide’s reporters) and a dance at the Queen’s Head, Kermode Street, under landlady, Sarah White.

This was the Messenger Press newspaper for Mitcham and Unley. It became the Courier Messenger.

This newspaper covered Edwardstown and Cumberland Park. It was continued as Southern Suburbs Community News.

This newspaper was published by the Croydon Park Ratepayers' Association.

This community newspaper had previously been titled Southern Suburbs Community News. It was taken over by Messenger Press in 1962. The newspaper covered the Marion and Mitcham areas.

This was the newspaper of the Ukranian community on South Australia. Its Ukranian title is Yednist.

This title began as a newsletter. After some financial difficulties it was bought by the editor, Margaret McKay in 2007, and its circulation tripled.

This title began as a newsletter. After some financial difficulties it was bought by the editor, Margaret McKay in 2007, and its circulation tripled.

John Southwood and George Spring founded the Copper Age as a Tuesday evening adjunct to the Plain Dealer newspaper in 1906. The content was largely the same in both titles.

This newspaper was published by the Blackwood Progress Association.

The Centenary Corroboree was published by the Advertiser for the 1936 Scouting Jamboree at Belair. The first Australian Jamboree was held in in Victoria in 1934. The leaders of the South Australian scouting movement decided a local Jamboree would be a suitable gesture for the centenary of South Australia's European colonisation in 1936. A six day camp of 4,000 scouts marked the 'Centenary Corroboree' at Belair National Park from 28 December 1936. Scouts from across the Commonwealth attended. The souvenir newspaper was sold at one penny per issue.

This newspaper was the official organ of the National Defence League, a conservative political group. It was run by prolific activist, Thomas Harry.

This was a country version of the Adelaide Trading Post. It had a number of titles at differing periods.

This newspaper was published by Riverton accountant Harold Du Rieu. It reflected the concerns of the local farming community. Together with articles about 'Wether hoggets' and the Rev JA Allen's 'Think it over' column, are advertisements for tractors and separators, and detailed descriptions of local weddings and debutante balls. From 1950 photographs of political figures, film stars and sporting heroes appear, with fewer news items and an increased preoccupation with 'Macarthyism'.
The newspaper covered the districts of Riverton, Tarlee, Rhynie and Saddleworth.

Although the Mount Barker district was first settled in the 1840s, it was not until 1880 that the town had its own newspaper. Charles Dumas founded the Mount Barker Courier out of his printing business. The geographical coverage was from Murray Bridge and Meningie, to Victor Harbour, across to Clarendon, and up to Lobethal. Murray Bridge was particularly well reported until its own newspaper was founded in 1934. Sport was a strong focus from the beginning, especially cricket and horse racing. Politically, the Courier supported protectionism and tariffs, as well as compulsory voting.

This Messenger title covers Unley, Mitcham and Edwardstown.

The Cricketer was published by the Register. It coincided with a game between the Australian Eleven and the South Australian Eighteen on 26-27 December 1878. It ran to three issues. Besides articles about the game, it contained many advertisements for Adelaide firms. The first issue stated, "This paper is published in honour of the return of the Australian cricketers. The publishers claim nothing original, and are indebted to several sources for the different articles." (p. 2)

This was a small political magazine produced by itinerant journalist, George Isaacs.

The Critic was a popular newspaper covering the social scene of Adelaide in the late 1890s and early twentieth century, with articles, social notes, photographs and cartoons. It also covered sport, mining, fashion and the theatre, with later issues including literary news and poetry submitted by readers. The newspaper was also the official organ of the Automobile Club of South Australia, giving coverage to early South Australian motoring.

This was a short-lived satirical journal published by EJ McAlister and FW Kennedy. Concentrating on political criticism, the journal also covered theatre reviews and horse racing.

This was the fourth country newspaper founded by James Barclay of Snowtown. The Crystal Brook Times covered news for the areas surrounding the towns of Crystal Brook, Merriton, Narridy and Wandearah.

Shipping lists containing both names of travellers and details of cargoes were printed in the local newspapers from the establishment of the Australian colonies. From the end of the nineteenth century specialised newspapers containing greater details were compiled. These were sometimes published as national newspapers, containing shipping details for each state.

The South Australian branch of the Labor Party took a risk in 1910 by turning its Weekly Herald into the Daily Herald. This was Australia’s first metropolitan daily Labor newspaper. Engaging with industrial issues and adopting a genuinely socialist stance, it was a stark contrast to the two relatively conservative Adelaide morning newspapers. Job printing for the trade unions helped the Herald to make ends meet, but competition from the News contributed to its eventual closure.

Shipping lists containing both names of travellers and details of cargoes were printed in the local newspapers from the establishment of the Australian colonies. From the end of the nineteenth century specialised newspapers containing greater details were compiled. These were sometimes published as national newspapers, containing shipping details for each state.

The Telegraph was Adelaide's first evening newspaper. Founded by the printer David Gall, it passed to experienced journalist Frederick Sinnett after one year. The title was taken from a highly successful London newspaper, the Daily Telegraph but perhaps also reflected the opening of Australia’s first public telegraph, between Adelaide and Melbourne, in July 1858. As an evening paper, and in the early period of the emerging of popular journalism, the emphasis was on summarising the news and on entertainment. The infant telegraphic network extending across Australia provided a new promptness to news delivery. The evening press came to have a strong sports focus. In 1867 the Telegraph was taken over by the Advertiser.

This is an interesting newspaper promoting the cause of Australian primary producers. It was also the organ of the Aborigines' Protection League, and contains lengthy discussions about the need for greater support for the Aboriginal people. The newspaper also espoused strong Christian and Socialist views.

Shipping lists containing both names of travellers and details of cargoes were printed in the local newspapers from the establishment of the Australian colonies. From the end of the nineteenth century specialised newspapers containing greater details were compiled. These were sometimes published as national newspapers, containing shipping details for each state.

The first Australian Greek newspaper was Oceanis, founded in Adelaide in 1914, but subsequently moved to Sydney. Deltion Pharoy was Adelaide's next Greek community publication, and a little longer lasting.

This was a small hand mimeographed local newspaper for the fishing town on the western Eyre Peninsula.

This was a literary supplement to the Neue Deutsche Zeitung fur Australien.

Taylor Martin published the German Language newspaper Hausfreund in Adelaide in 1894, out of the Register office. Only the first issue is known to exist. This contains brief South Australian, interstate and overseas news, as well as advertisements, a page of jokes, and a serial story set in the German army.

This was a weekly handwritten newsletter published by men of German background interred on Torrens Island during the First World War. There were three issues. The camp on Torrens Island contained 300 men. Under the strict supervision of Major Hawkes they were not allowed access to newspapers. The third issue refers to two re-captured escapees being flogged, which later brought an official enquiry into Major Hawkes’ running of the camp. As a result the camp was closed in August 1915, the prisoners being transferred to Holdsworthy camp near Liverpool in New South Wales. The title Kamerad translates as ‘Comrade’ or ‘Mate’. The editor was a young man named Walter Emde. The newsletters include articles, some fine drawings of the camp and inmates, humour and comic songs, and advertisements for the makeshift shops in the camp.

This newspaper was produced by the Flinders Travel Service of Port Pirie in conjunction with the Commonwealth Railways. It was aimed at travellers aboard the Indian-Pacific, Trans-Australian and Ghan rail services. Largely containing articles promoting tourism, the newspaper also chronicled the restoration and re-opening of the historic Pichi Richi Railway in 1974.

Only two issues have survived of this early German-language newspaper.

Australia's first non-English newspaper was founded in Adelaide in 1848 by Carl Kornhardt. The first issue contained both German and English text. The mineralogist Johann Menge was the first editor.

This was the newspaper of the local branch of the International Workers of the World, also known as the Industrial Workers of the World, a radical labour movement. The organisation was founded in Chicago in 1905 but by the 1920s had been hounded out of existence in America. In Australia branches continued to be active for a long period after this time.

The District reflector was a short-lived monthly publication covering Woodville and nearby suburbs. Only five issues of the broadsheet newspaper are known to exist. It contained snippets of news for Woodville, Kilkenny, Croydon and the new subdivision of 'Gelland' (now part of West Croydon). The newspaper was published by 'Messrs Woodland and Webb' and printed by EJ McAlister.

This short lived newspaper was published for the Greek Pontian community in Adelaide. Its Greek title means ‘voice of Pontus’.

Only three issues of this newspaper are known to have survived. The bulk of each issue comprises single sentences of scathing gossip under headings such as 'Kensington Kinks', or 'Croydon Crows'. These were apparently compiled by 'correspondents' in the suburbs mentioned. The geographical coverage ranges from Kensington to Tea Tree Gully, Hope Valley to Dry Creek. It is difficult to imagine how the publishers managed to publish such intimate and libellous material. The newspaper was produced by Charles Chandler, who had many brushes with the law during his varied newspaper career.

A newspaper concentrating on Norwood news.

The Eastern Courier Messenger was formed by a merger of the Courier Messenger and the Eastern Suburbs Messenger.

Only two issues of the Eastern Star were published. This neatly produced newspaper covered the inner eastern suburbs of Norwood, St Peters and Payneham. It included both advertisements for local businesses and news articles.

This newspaper had a series of title changes. It later merged with the Courier Messenger to become the Eastern Courier Messenger.

This was one of a series of early free suburban newspapers produced by Walqvist Publishing. The other titles were the Welfare Times, Unley Welfare and Western Times. Norwood and Kensington news was interspersed with social notes, a children's column, 'the woman in the home' column, and advertisements. The disagreement between the Minister for Education and the Norwood Council over extending the Norwood Oval made front page headlines for several weeks.

This was a short-lived weekly newspaper. The editor was an experienced journalist, Dick Wordley. The content included discussion of local issues, social photographs, and regular fishing, gardening and entertainment sections. There was also extensive local sports coverage. An interesting column by the State Ombudsman (Bob Bakewell) answered queries connected with his area of expertise. Based at Christies Beach, the geographical coverage spread southwards from Lonsdale to Noarlunga and Willunga.

Charles Smith of the Adelaide and Port Lincoln Trading Company published this newspaper to promote land sales at Port Lincoln. Joseph Barnett was the publisher and Archibald Macdougall the printer. There were many humorous as well as more serious articles in the newspaper. Proceeds from sales were donated to charitable causes, including the establishment of the Adelaide Hospital.

This was the second of three newspaper titles published in competition with the Messenger Press. The other titles were the Gully Gazette and the Para Gazette.

This was the second of three newspaper titles published in competition with the Messenger Press. The other titles were the Gully Gazette and the Para Gazette.

This was a long running Greek community newspaper.

Ellenike Paroikia was the newspaper of the Adelaide Greek community in the early 1980s.

Eucla was important as the location of a repeater station on the Adelaide-Perth telegraph line. The little magazine largely contained news for the staff employed at the station.

The Journal (originally titled Evening Journal) was established as an afternoon edition of the Register in 1869. It summarised the morning headlines and printed sports results. During the First World War the Journal was an important means of disseminating information about the conflict and published various editions, including a 'special cable edition.' The Friday edition had a particular focus on sports news. From 1923 with the creation of the News, the Journal was published only on Saturday. The Saturday edition was a larger issue with week-end reading matter, including sports and humour.

This newspaper was started by a group of gentlemen when the Adelaide Independent ceased. The newspaper saw itself as in competition with the South Australian Register. It claimed to be the ‘only liberal portion of the press’ in Adelaide at that time. (18 August 1842, p. 2) Dr Richard Penny ('Vox Populi') was the outspoken editor, assisted by fellow doctors Litchfield, and Edward Davy. The newspaper was unable to survive beyond eighteen months. While it lasted, the twice-weekly newspaper published strongly-worded opinions about a range of topics and people in early Adelaide. It provides a fascinating alternative press commentary.

This was a short-lived weekly newspaper published during the Victorian Gold rush, out of Wiggs' Booksellers in Rundle Street. The newspaper gives much attention to the 1853 parliamentary election which led to the framing of the South Australian. Other topics discussed include Aboriginal legal rights. The newspaper believed English law did not take account of traditional Aboriginal law. Ultimately Adelaide was not large enough for the Examiner to compete with the Register or the other morning daily, the Adelaide Times. This was the first Adelaide newspaper to be corporately owned, by a group of prominent businessmen. The owners transferred their investment by purchasing the flourishing South Australian Register. (Adelaide Times, 9 July 1853, p. 2)

The Exchange was an advertising medium for shops and other businesses at Mount Gambier. Early issues of this free newspaper do not seem to have survived, but publishing probably began in 1902. For almost 30 years the Clark family, local printers published this newspaper. It ceased when the Second World War caused paper restrictions and a decline in advertising.

In 1863 the Advertiser purchased Adelaide's first evening newspaper, the Daily Telegraph, and began a new title, the Adelaide Express. This eventually became simply the Express, but varied its title at different periods. As an evening newspaper it contained condensed news from the columns of the morning Advertiser, and brief late-breaking news items. It also published the literary work of both established and budding writers and poets. In many respects the evening press came into its own during the First World War when the telegraph for the first time was used to provide continuous updates of the conflict. Through this period Adelaide’s two evening newspapers, the Express, and the Journal published up to four editions per day. In 1923 the weekday publishing rights of both the Express and the rival Journal were purchased by the newly established News. However, the separately published Saturday Express continued until 1929.

In 1923 the weekday publishing rights of both the Express and the rival Journal were purchased by the newly established News. However, the separately published Saturday Express continued until 1929, when it merged with the Register’s Saturday Journal to become the Express and Journal.

In 1923 the weekday publishing rights of both the Express and the rival Journal were purchased by the newly established News. However, the separately published Saturday Express continued until 1929, when it merged with the Register’s Saturday Journal to become the Express and Journal.

In 1863 the Advertiser purchased Adelaide's first evening newspaper, the Daily Telegraph, and began a new title, the Adelaide Express. This eventually became simply the Express, but varied its title at different periods. As an evening newspaper it contained condensed news from the columns of the morning Advertiser, and brief late-breaking news items. It also published the literary work of both established and budding writers and poets. In many respects the evening press came into its own during the First World War when the telegraph for the first time was used to provide continuous updates of the conflict. Through this period Adelaide’s two evening newspapers, the Express, and the Journal published up to four editions per day. In 1923 the weekday publishing rights of both the Express and the rival Journal were purchased by the newly established News. However, the separately published Saturday Express continued until 1929.

In 1863 the Advertiser purchased Adelaide's first evening newspaper, the Daily Telegraph, and re-named it the Adelaide Express. This later became the Express and Telegraph, and finally the Express. As an evening newspaper it contained condensed news from the columns of the morning Advertiser, and brief late news items. It also published the literary work of established and budding writers and poets. The evening press came into its own during the First World War, as for the first time the telegraph was used to provide continuous updates of the conflict. Through this period Adelaide’s two evening newspapers (the Express and the Journal) published up to four editions per day.

This free newspaper appears to have been published by the Port Lincoln Times, in conjunction with the West Coast Sentinel. A sister publication was the Peninsula Farmer. The intended readership was farming families of the Eyre Peninsula.

The Eyre's Peninsula Tribune was established in 1910 to serve the towns of Cowell, Cleve, Franklin Harbour and Arno Bay. It outlived smaller newspapers in the district, absorbing the Kimba Dispatch, before being merged with the Port Lincoln Times and Areas Express. In 1982 it was taken over by Northern Newspapers Pty Ltd, but is now part of Fairfax Media. In the 1970s the title changed slightly to become the Eyre Peninsula Tribune.