SA Newspapers: T-Z

This was Adelaide's longest running Greek community newspaper.

This newspaper was founded by Friedrich Basedow and his brother-in-law Charles Hasting Barton following the move of the Sud Australische Zeitung from Tanunda to Adelaide. Competition between the two titles was intense. The Tanunda Deutsche Zeitung contained long editorials about South Australian issues, but otherwise both contained similar material, with more space given to overseas news than local news and plenty of advertising. From March 1868 the Tanunda Deutsche Zeitung included a Melbourne news report, following a trend begun by the Sud Australische Zeitung. The two newspapers eventually merged to become the Australische Zeitung.

This newspaper covered the agricultural districts either side of the South Australian/Victorian border. It was printed in Naracoorte, and was eventually absorbed by the older Naracoorte Herald.

The Tatiara Mail was founded at Bordertown in 1880 by Melbourne Mott and Michael Murphy. Mott’s father owned the Hamilton Spectator in Victoria. Its coverage spanned both sides of the South Australian/Victorian border, but the greater amount of space was given to Victorian news. In 1888 the newspaper moved to Nhill. It was eventually sold to EJ Stephens of the Nhill Free Press.

The discovery of gold at Teetulpa attracted 2,000 prospectors to the makeshift town. (Terowie Enterprise 29 October 1886, p. 2) By the middle of the following year the gold was giving out, and the population dwindled. At the height, Robert Osborne of the Port Augusta Dispatch published a newspaper for the miners. Only one issue of the newspaper (number 11) is known to now exist. This contains advertisements for local businesses, brief news items, stories and poems. Local news includes reports of typhoid fever, a visiting ‘Indian tourist’ and ‘Lady minstrel’ company, and a Christian mission service held to raise funds for the local destitute poor.

This was Adelaide's first evening newspaper. It was founded by the printer David Gall, passing to journalist Frederick Sinnett after one year. The title was based on a highly successful London newspaper, and reflected the revolution in reporting brought by the opening of Australia’s first public telegraph, between Adelaide and Melbourne, in July 1858. As an evening paper in the period which saw the emergence of popular journalism, the emphasis was on summarising the news, and on entertainment. The evening press also came to have a strong sports focus. In 1867 the Telegraph was taken over by the Advertiser and renamed the Express.

The Terowie Enterprise began with the aim of promoting the development of the town and district and specifically fighting for the proposed railway link to Broken Hill to go through Terowie rather than Petersburg (Peterborough). The editor did not shrink from criticising neighbouring newspapers alternative proposals. However the 1890s drought ended hopes of extending the northern line beyond Oodnadatta and Joseph Pengelley closed the newspaper to found the Orroroo Enterprise. Before 1887 issues contain plenty of sports coverage including interstate (Victorian) and city football and horseracing. Under Pengelley’s editorship there was much discussion of moral issues such as drinking, gambling, and religious interference in politics. Geographical coverage included news from Burra and Cockburn, and later Silverton over the border.

This was a short-lived ultra-conservative political journal. Abraham Davis was the publisher and created much comment during its two-year life. Davis was opposed to South Australia's democratic government, universal suffrage and the secret ballot. Adelaide's two daily newspapers lampooned their new ‘adversary’, "The policy of our contemporary is out of date and impracticable." (South Australian Advertiser, 7 January 1860, p. 2-3) Davis was also accused of being prejudiced against the working classes. (Thursday Review, 5 January 1860, p. 3) Apart from political comment, the most regular feature was poetry. A number of local poets had work published in the journal, in particular 'Ellie' (Ellen Debney).

This news magazine was published at Glenelg under various titles between 1968 and 1970. Its other titles were Times News Magazine, and Pageant Pictorial.

Victor Harbor's own newspaper began as an off-shoot of the Southern Argus. Herbert ('Peter') Milnes, a Southern Argus printer moved to the newspaper in 1917 and in 1922 purchased the Times from the Elliot family. The Times has largely reflected Victor Harbour’s role as a popular holiday place, as well as recording life in a country community. As for most country newspapers, local sport is a major feature of the paper. The spelling of ‘harbour’ varied within the town on signs, clubs in the masthead of its local newspaper. (The spelling ‘harbor’ is based on an archaic English spelling.)In 1985 the newspaper was sold to SA Regional Media Ltd, the parent company of the Whyalla News. They in turn sold to Rural Press Ltd, which merged with the Fairfax group in 2007.

The Petersburg Times began in 1887 with the specific aim to counter moves to have the Great Northern Railway diverted through Terowie. In fact Peterborough became the major railway junction. The newspaper included news from more than 70 towns and localities. Coverage was concentrated on Peterborough, Terowie, Nackara, Dawson, Yunta, Yongala, Quorn and Orroroo. Much space was given to church news, particularly the local Catholic and Baptist churches. Syndicated material was freely used, a common but criticised practice. From 1910 there emerged more chatty social articles and increasing articles and advertisements relating to agriculture. Both World Wars brought a strong focus on the conflict. The government ruled that German-sounding 'Petersburg' must become 'Peterborough' and the newspaper became The Times and Northern Advertiser. Sports reports were dominated by football, reaching a peak in the years before the First World War. From 1919 a 'Times Medal' was created, awarded annually to the most popular local footballer. Photographs began appearing in 1896. The Times was one of a handful of South Australian country newspapers which commissioned a coloured lithographic supplement by FW Niven, included with the issue of 15 December 1893.

This news magazine was published at Glenelg under various titles between 1968 and 1970. Titles included: Times, and Pageant Pictorial.

Adelaide bookseller Charles Platts published this satirical newspaper. The text was probably by Nathaniel Hailes, a well-known auctioneer who used the pen name 'Timothy Short'. The humour in the newspaper consists mostly of puns. The usual newspaper columns including an editorial, shipping column, courts, proceedings in parliament, letters to the editor and advertisements are all composed in a satirical style. The Burra mines, defence and a recent agricultural show are topical items which are mentioned. It is possible that two later newspapers published by James Allen were inspired by this title. These are titled: Adelaide Gazette Extraordinary, and First of April Cracker. No other issues of the newspaper have survived, if published.

This was an advertising newspaper published by John Northmore, a partner with Horace Dean in the drapery business of Northmore & Dean. It contained large advertisements for the firm and other city businesses. Northmore's obituary claimed, his ‘advertising ... was of a novel and somewhat sensational character.’ (South Australian Register, 9 June 1891, p. 3) He was also the author of ‘fluent and trenchant letters on political and other subjects,’ to Adelaide newspapers’ (ibid) His newspaper contained insightful criticism of local politics, and regular letters by ‘Tommy Rough’ commenting on topics such as Chinese immigration, which the author was strongly against. Northmore was known for his verse and anonymous poems in the newspaper may have been by him. The Library holds an incomplete set of the newspaper which probably ran for three years. The final issue announces the dissolution of Northmore and Dean's partnership. (15 October 1879, p. 1)

This was the last title in a series of newspapers containing only classified advertisements which began in 1968. Its advertising role was superseded by the Internet in 2009.

The Transcontinental was founded by James Barclay of Wilmington. After two issues Barclay sold to Maurice Hill and John Edwards, previously employed at the Port Augusta Dispatch as a printer and a journalist. Port Augusta at this time was about to be developed by the Federal government as an important point in the building of the Trans-Australian railway, hence the title.

Between March 1961 and January 1963 the newspaper was published twice weekly on Tuesday and Friday. For a time between July and September 1971, the Transcontinental was combined with the Port Pirie Recorder as the Northern Observer. The move was not popular and the two titles reverted to separate publication. In 1991 the Transcontinental became part of Rural Press, which later joined with Fairfax Media.

This newspaper was published by George Howell for the South Australian Branch of the Independent Order of Good Templars. The order was established in Adelaide in 1872 by journalist Edwin Derrington. Apart from its fellowship and mutual support aspects, the Good Templars also promoted abstinence from alcohol. Articles in the newspaper discuss this and the work of the various branches across South Australia. There are also reports of the Independent Order of Rechabites and other lodges. 'Agnes Neale' (Caroline Agnes Leane), a well-known local writer, provided a serial story for the newspaper about the affects of drinking. The Tribune appears to have been a continuation of an earlier newspaper, the South Australian Templar.

Truth was composed largely of grisly and sensational tales sifted from court rooms and police stations. Descriptions of murders and seductions filed its pages. It also gave good coverage to horse racing. It went through various incarnations from the first Adelaide edition published by Joseph Wharton in 1890. Issues of the Melbourne Truth marked 'Adelaide edition' exist for 1916 and 1917. These issues were published by Harold Gray for John Norton of the Sydney Truth. All the advertisements in the Adelaide editions are for Melbourne businesses. Similarly, almost all of the news content is Melbourne-based. In 1925 a 'South Australian edition' of Truth was published by Joseph Aloysius Patrick Hayes for Norton's company. A single 1934 issue of Truth names the publisher as James Glennon Geohagen, for Truth and Sportsman, Melbourne. The longest continuous run of a South Australian edition of Truth covers the Second World War and post war period. The newspaper was still published by James Geohagen as an off-shoot of the Melbourne Truth. It also was filled with scandal and horse racing. Towards the end of its life the South Australian Truth gave more space to stories of the rich and famous, and enlarged its coverage of local horse racing and football. The Truth at this time became popular for its bikini girl photographs. The Melbourne Truth finally finished in 1994, thirty years after the last South Australian edition was published.

Truth and Progress was the newspaper of the South Australian Baptist Church. Its first editors were the Rev John Price and the Rev Silas Mead.

The Turf Review was published weekly through the 1930s as a guide for horse racing enthusiasts. The publisher was Samuel Mander. Only a few issues from 1937 are held in the State Library.

This began as a newsletter in 1978, changing to newspaper format in 2010. The State Library does not hold early copies of the newspaper.

This newspaper was founded by HG Butler, a well-known journalist, and one-time editor of the Port Lincoln Times. In 1962 the newspaper became part of the Messenger Press group. Its current title is Eastern Courier Messenger.

This is the oldest surviving Adelaide suburban newspaper. The publisher was Robert Osborne, formerly of the Quorn Mercury. Initially the newspaper covered the full range of Unley news: local government, sport, churches and detailed biographies and obituaries, including photographs. However, from 1910 the newspaper was reduced to one page of local news, and three pages of syndicated items.

This was a free newspaper produced by Gordon Dwyer and the Sport Radio Press. As well as lots of advertisements, the articles covered local sport, churches, Unley Council activities, the RSL branch, biographical articles and a 'Hollywood Happenings' column with movie news.

Douglas Bardolph produced this outspoken local newspaper. As well as a page for women, coverage of local sport, churches and social news, and biographical articles and photographs, the Unley News contained long critical editorials about local government and other issues facing the people of Unley. These editorials drew public criticism. News coverage extended to Goodwood and adjacent suburbs.

Only five issues of the Unley Review have survived. The small, magazine-like newspaper focussed strongly on post-war related subjects such as the employment of returned soldiers. It also contained lengthy local sports reports and photographs.

Only five issues of the Unley Times have survived. The free weekly newspaper was published by GAG Herbert, and as well as news items gave coverage to local school activities, sport, social notes, and included a women's page.

The founding proprietor and editor of the Unley Welfare was Lily Baldwin. The newspaper's initial focus on 'female' subjects reflects this, with a children's column, cookery, fashion, and crochet columns. News items were relatively brief, and there was a preponderance of advertising. Following Mrs Baldwin's death in mid 1922, the format changed under Arthur Bollard's editorship, with first pages, then columns of news from adjoining suburbs including: Parkside, Hyde Park, Goodwood and Mitcham.

The Venture was published as a supplement to 17 South Australian country newspapers.

Victor Harbor's own newspaper began as an off-shoot of the Southern Argus. Herbert ('Peter') Milnes, a Southern Argus printer moved to the newspaper in 1917 and in 1922 purchased the Times from the Elliot family. The Times has largely reflected Victor Harbour’s role as a popular holiday place, as well as recording life in a country community. As for most country newspapers, local sport is a major feature of the paper. The spelling of ‘harbour’ varied within the town on signs, clubs in the masthead of its local newspaper. (The spelling ‘harbor’ is based on an archaic English spelling.)In 1985 the newspaper was sold to SA Regional Media Ltd, the parent company of the Whyalla News. They in turn sold to Rural Press Ltd, which merged with the Fairfax group in 2007.

Victor Harbor's own newspaper began as an off-shoot of the Southern Argus. Herbert ('Peter') Milnes, a Southern Argus printer moved to the newspaper in 1917 and in 1922 purchased the Times from the Elliot family. The Times has largely reflected Victor Harbour’s role as a popular holiday place, as well as recording life in a country community. As for most country newspapers, local sport is a major feature of the paper. The spelling of ‘harbour’ varied within the town on signs, clubs in the masthead of its local newspaper. (The spelling ‘harbor’ is based on an archaic English spelling.)In 1985 the newspaper was sold to SA Regional Media Ltd, the parent company of the Whyalla News. They in turn sold to Rural Press Ltd, which merged with the Fairfax group in 2007.

The Voice was described as a ‘democratic newspaper’. The editor was John Medway Day, who had previously been a Baptist minister at Kapunda, and left the church to work in journalism. The newspaper focussed on many of the political and social discussions of the time such as single taxation and land nationalisation. It also included coverage of the New Australia movement, the group of idealists who set out to establish a Utopian settlement in Paraguay.

This short lived newspaper was published for the Greek Pontian community in Adelaide. Its Greek title is E Phone Toy Pontoy.

Despite two pre-existing newspapers in the district, the Wallaroo Times gained an advantage by publishing more frequently at twice weekly. In 1888 the newspaper moved to Kadina. Reporting covered Kadina and Wallaroo, and to a lesser extent also Moonta. Initially the newspaper was outspoken, advocating free trade and independence from Britain. Its low opinion of politicians caused a Parliamentary debate about the newspaper's 'contempt of this House.' (18 June 1870, p. 3-4) It became more conservative under editor David Bews, but supported votes for women. (25 July 1885, p. 2) The newspaper gave much space to mining, including the 1865, 1874 and 1891/92 miners’ strikes. Local Methodism was reflected strongly, but space was also given to Roman Catholic news. Early issues occasionally contained articles in the Welsh language. (19 July 1865, p. 3, and 16 October 1867, p. 3) In 1963 the newspaper was taken over by the (Moonta) People's Weekly and eventually became part of the Yorke Peninsula Country Times.

The War Cry was the newspaper of the Salvation Army in Australia. This was a national journal, but an Adelaide edition was published in some years between 1883 and 1898.

The Warradale News Review was an early Messenger Press title.

This was a newspaper published by the South Australian Sixth Contingent, Imperial Bushmen, on board the steamship Warrigal on route to Durban during the South African War. The newspaper contains articles by various members of the contingent. It was printed in South Africa by Robinson and Co., of the Natal Mercury, for the editor, Lieutenant George Cossins. The newspaper lists the more than 100 officers and men of the Contingent, as well as other passengers. Articles describe aspects of life on board ship, and frequent humour about sea sickness. The medical officer's young son, Alex Pentland, writes a child's description of the voyage on page one.

This weekly newspaper was published by James Allen as an adjunct to the Adelaide Times. Both newspapers closed through Allen’s bankruptcy in 1858. Very few issues of the Weekly Dispatch are held in the State Library.

This was a landmark newspaper, rooted in the Labor movement of the 1890s. It partially continued J. Medway Day’s The Voice. The Herald under editor William Wedd discussed working-class rights, the mix of politics and religion, women's rights and unionism. The New Australia scheme in Paraguay, the ‘Adelaide Hospital Row’ and the establishment of village settlements were matters written about at length. Catherine Helen Spence, feminist and reformer, wrote for the Herald, as did the naturalist JGO Tepper, and Lucy Morice, niece of Catherine Spence, briefly edited the women's column. Sports, drama, music and literature were included in its coverage. An interesting serial story described the heroine being rejected by her lover due to her labour involvements. The newspaper was obviously a success, moving to daily production in 1910 as the Daily Herald.

The Weekly Mail was published by Frederick Sinnett as an adjunct of his daily Telegraph, Adelaide's first evening paper. Only two issues are known to have survived. These contain the usual news items - in particular a large section of court reports, as well as advertisements and editorial comment. A serial by Catherine Helen Spence, ‘Uphill work’ was later published in this newspaper. The 16 May 1863 issue contains an article expressing concern about the projected cost of building the Adelaide Town Hall, and an editorial against spending money on gas-light decorations to celebrate the marriage of the Prince of Wales.

This newspaper was published by auctioneer and printer Caleb Gurr.

The Weekly Times began as the Woodville Times in 1954 It became part of the Messenger Press.

The Weekly Times Messenger began as the Woodville Times in 1954. It became part of the Messenger Press.

The Weekly Trading Post, under various titles, was a popular source of classified advertisements, concentrating on secondhand goods, for forty years. It was overtaken by the Internet.

The Welfare-Times was published by experienced newspaper man RM Osborne. It combined two older titles, the Unley Welfare and the Western Times.

David Drysdale of the Port Augusta Dispatch established this newspaper. Initially he used many syndicated articles, but also published news reports, sport results and agricultural articles. In its early years there was news from a multitude of towns and settlements on the Peninsula. For some years the Recorder was run by Mrs Rebecca McGregor. She was approached by JE Edwards and Maurice Hill several times to sell the newspaper, but refused. Subsequently these men established the rival Port Lincoln Times. Restrictions to labour and paper during the Second World War caused the Recorder to close in 1942.

The West Coast Sentinel began at Streaky Bay. News coverage extended to Kimba, Port Kenny, Minnipa, Penong and Elliston. In 1990 it was taken over by Rural Press, now a subsidiary of Fairfax Media.

This small newspaper was produced through the Hilton Progressive Association. Its news coverage concentrated on news items for the suburb of Hilton, in particular news of this Association, reports of the West Torrens District Council, sport, and original humorous articles and letters.

This began as a magazine format, but from July 1914 was printed as a broadsheet newspaper. Covering news from the West Torrens district, and including photographs, the newspaper included strong coverage of the West Torrens Football Club. The newspaper also gave much space to reporting the first months of the First World War.

This newspaper began as a small production of the Findon and Flinders Park RSL sub-branch. Its geographical coverage was the western suburbs of Adelaide, in particular Findon, Beverley and Flinders Park.

The Western Mail concentrated on news for the town of Ceduna, in particular the movement to build the local hospital. News, obituaries, social notes, a children's column and pages of motoring, radio and agricultural information were included. 'Flotsam and Jetsam by The Wrecker' was a weekly commentary on a broad range of subjects both local and other.

This newspaper lasted only three issues. It was published by young Tumby Bay printer, Walter Augustine Wade. The newspaper contained Tumby Bay news, local council and sporting club news, and tips for farmers. The first issue included a commemorative single page supplement with photographs, one depicting Wade's printing office.

This was a free newspaper, published by Wahlqvist Press in Pirie Street. It covered news for the suburbs of Henley Beach, Hilton, Mile End and Torrensville. The content was mostly short news items and advertisements for local businesses, with sporting news on the back page. Longer 'interest' articles on the front page, included a series of melodramatic South Australian history articles. From the sixth issue stories of the editor’s schooldays in a country town appear. Front page headline news included the disappearance of 13-year-old Vernon Pretty, son of the mayor of Thebarton. (28 August 1924, p. 1) The last few issues included a 'Suburban men of note' column describing prominent local men.

This was the first newspaper for the expanding communities of the Eyre Peninsula at the beginning of the 20th century. The aim was to cover news for the whole of the Eyre Peninsula, but Port Lincoln received most coverage. A 'local' column contained news from the various small towns but Streaky Bay and Franklin Harbour had more frequent reports. Sports reports most often covered tennis and cricket. There are several reports of St Thomas’ Anglican Church, Port Lincoln. Interestingly, in the issue of 18 October 1902, the Franklin Harbour correspondent refers to the completion of the dog-proof fence.

The Willunga Bulletin was really a four-page advertisement for the American based Dr Sheldon's medicines. The broadsheet was printed so that any title could be added to the front with local agent's advertisements placed on the back. In this case the local agent was Matthew Goode who ran a general store at Willunga from about 1890 until the 1920s. The four pages are filled with short jokes, articles about uses for the medicines, and a competition for children.

This grew out of a Woodville Council newsletter named Topical Tabs. Eventually this newspaper was taken over by Messenger Press.

In 1903 James Walker established the Central Advocate. In 1926 it was purchased by Amy Henstridge, of the Snowtown newspaper, the Stanley Herald. At this time the newspaper was re-named the Wooroora Producer, and later became simply The Producer. It was suspended during the Second World War, but reopened in 1946. Roger Manuel and his wife Margaret purchased the newspaper in 1983. In 1992 it was renamed the Plains Producer. The newspaper has won the BankSA Award for the best newspaper with a circulation under 5,000 in 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2008. Its area of coverage extends form Snowtown in the north to Virginia in the south.

The Workers' Weekly Herald was the newspaper of the South Australian Labor movement. It has existed under various titles at different times.

This was the newspaper of the Ukranian community in South Australia. In English the title means ‘Concord’.

The Times is a descendant of the longest running newspaper on the Yorke Peninsula, which began in 1865 as the Wallaroo Times. It has absorbed several other newspapers. From 1888 until 2008 the newspaper occupied the same offices in Taylor Street, Kadina. It has won several Country Press SA awards. This is one of the few country newspapers still privately owned. It has been in the hands of four generations of the Ellis family.

This is the later title of the Yorke's Peninsula Advertiser, published at Moonta for some decades.

The Southern Yorke's Peninsula Pioneer was established by Ben Wilkinson in Yorketown in 1898. The newspaper absorbed the Maitland Watch in 1969, and was then re-named the Yorke Peninsula News Pictorial. It later became part of the Yorke Peninsula Country Times.

The Yorkes Peninsula Advertiser joined the older, more worker-focussed Kadina and Wallaroo Times. It provided the town of Moonta with its own news reporting. In June 1877 editor Edwin Derrington published a scathing attack on various politicians which caused a Parliamentary debate. The newspaper contains some interesting comments on early unionism in South Australia. During the miners’ Great Strike of 1874 it spoke against the action and expressed mixed feelings about union membership. But later under editor William Wilkinson, the newspaper supported the newly formed Labor Party. Like the other Yorke Peninsula newspapers it supported women having the right to vote.
The newspaper at times took a high moral tone. Editor William Richards was a preacher in the Wesleyan (Methodist) Church and brought his religion to the paper. Various references to the Aboriginal mission at Point Pearce appear in the pages of the newspaper. Local sport was not such a feature of the Advertiser as it was in the other Peninsula newspapers. From 1900 the Advertiser took a stronger agricultural focus, with advertisements and articles. From 1911 detailed obituaries of local people were published. These increased during the years of the First World War. The newspaper ceased without notice in 1922, almost certainly due to the closure of the copper mines. The following year the Yorke Peninsula Farmer was started up to replace the Advertiser.

The life of the Plain Dealer was tied strongly to the final years of the Wallaroo and Moonta Mining Company. As well as the demise of the famous copper mine, the pages of the newspaper reflect the political upheavals that took place in the district during and after the First World War. The Plain Dealer was a small and outspoken competitor to the long-running local newspaper, the Kadina and Wallaroo Times. Between 1901 and 1902 an interesting series of humorous articles appear, written in the Cornish dialect. Between 1906 and 1908 the Copper Age was printed as a mid-week subsidiary to the Plain Dealer.

This was a free newspaper distributed state-wide to young people. It was published entirely on a voluntary basis. The newspaper was principally the work of a combined churches group.

This was a short-lived publication produced by Walter Cousins Sims. Sims previously published the Adelaide Miscellany. In its second year Youth's journal simply became a new version of his older title. The magazine contained stories, poems, puzzles, and a chess column. All the material seems to have been locally written. Contributors included Agnes Neale (Caroline Agnes Leane) and 'Clotilde' - two prolific amateur writers. The Rev Wilton Hack contributed a series of articles about drawing techniques, as well as an article about morality and avoiding temptation. (25 November 1871, p. 69) 'CHH' contributed a series describing travel in the far north of South Australia.