SA Newspapers: O-R

The Observer was established by John Stephens with a country readership in mind. Stephens claimed it would be apolitical, and this was largely the case throughout the Observer’s long life. In 1845 Stephens also purchased the Register, and the Observer became a weekly summary of the Register’s daily news. Many articles were simply copied from the daily title. By 1852 the Observer appeared in two editions. First was an early country edition sent to Burra and other country places on Fridays. A second 'town edition' appeared on Saturday morning. As the rail network spread through the 1870s, the delivery of city newspapers to the country eroded the need for the country weekly summary and the focus of the Observer changed to week-end leisure reading. While still summarising the week's news, it included literature, a 'ladies column', agricultural articles, etc. Adelaide’s earliest women journalists and aspiring writers had work published in the Observer. This included Catherine Helen Spence, Winifred Scott and Ellen Liston. From 1902 a regular four-page photographic supplement was included. Earlier supplements had appeared intermittently since September 1895.

This was a free literary supplement published with the Adelaide Observer from 1875. The small 16 page magazine lasted for five years. Its content consisted of stories, articles, poems, puzzles, riddles and a chess section. The amount of material contributed by local writers varied, but was often as much as half of the content. The rest consisted of poems and serials copied from English and American magazines. All the items in the 'Riddler' section were contributed by local readers. Some well-known South Australians of the time were contributors. This included Catherine Helen Spence, Catherine Martin, George Wilkinson and Nathaniel Hailes. The Miscellany ceased at the end of 1879 as part of the re-vamping of the Adelaide Observer. From January 1880 the new look Saturday newspaper included an extensive literary section, still with many of the Miscellany regulars, including Atha, Maurice, G.B.W. (George Wilkinson) and Robert Bruce.

This is the only known issue of the Old Colonists' Journal, a newspaper briefly published by Walter Waite. Waite was a printer and shopkeeper in Hindley Street. It is not known how many issues of the newspaper were printed, however it was on record as being one of seven titles which ceased during the early months of 1852 through the economic effects of the Victorian gold rush (Maitland mercury, 10 April 1852, p. 3). Waite went on to become the publican of the Stag Inn on Rundle Street. The newspaper contains no local news, but consists of overseas and interstate news which were possibly syndicated items. The front page contains a handful of advertisements, including advertisements for Waite's printing office, and his 'tea, coffee and chop house.'

This small newspaper covers the Fleurieu Peninsula.

The Orroroo Enterprise was founded by Joseph Pengelley. He first ran the Terowie Enterprise, but transferred the newspaper to the more centrally located town of Orroroo four years later. Renamed the Orroroo Enterprise, the focus was predominantly on agricultural matters and local news. Reports include the activities of clubs, council meetings, local events and sport.

This was a radical political reform newspaper. In particular, its editor and supporters followed the socialist land ownership (land nationalisation) views of the American Henry George. The Hungarian Jew, Ignatius Singer, was editor, with support from a number of Adelaide’s political thinkers including Henry Taylor of the New Australia movement (and later editor of the Renmark Pioneer), the jeweller and political economist LH Berens, James Sellar of the National Reform Association, and the early country newspaper entrepreneur Lester Judell.

Five issues of this newspaper were published. The publisher used a syndicated sheet, placing local news on the outer (front and back) pages. Apart from the title it is identical with the Hamley Bridge Express.

This news magazine was published at Glenelg under various titles between 1968 and 1970. Its other titles were the Times and Times News Magazine.

This newspaper was the first of three titles published in competition with the Messenger Press by Gazette Newspapers. It was a free newspaper.

This newspaper was the first of three titles published in competition with the Messenger Press. It was a free newspaper.

This newspaper was the first of three titles published by Mike Denny in competition with the Messenger Press. It was a free newspaper.

This is the current Greek community newspaper for South Australia.

The word 'pasquin' refers to a lampoon, or satire, but also to criticism or protest against a government. This journal was owned and largely written (in its first two years) by Eustace Mitford. Mitford was a keen critic of Adelaide society and politics, usually through allegory. He also wrote about colonial literature, the theatre and horse-racing. Such was the admiration for his work that the journal was reprinted in London in 1882. The original journal included cartoon supplements. Three of these cartoons are held in the State Library pictorial collection.

The People’s Weekly served the largest Yorke Peninsula town, Moonta, for almost 80 years. It included coverage for surrounding towns, but concentrated mainly on the activities and interests of the people of Moonta. Throughout its life, the newspaper reflected the importance of the copper mining industry, providing detailed mining reports and covering industrial activity. In 1891, the title claimed the largest circulation on the Peninsula, with 1,000 subscribers in Moonta alone.

The Peterborough Times was a short-lived attempt to re-start a newspaper at Peterborough. However in 2006 it was absorbed into the new Mid North Broadcaster, together with neighbouring newspapers the Burra Broadcaster, and the Eudunda Observer.

This newspaper was established as an outspoken and blatant competitor to the Petersburg (Peterborough) Times. It was very political, being strongly conservative, anti-Labor and anti-socialist. News items from adjacent towns occasionally appeared, including Yongala, Terowie and Burra. There was also regular church news and sports reports. William Myers and Walter Wade were the proprietors.

The Petersburg Times began in 1887 with the specific aim to counter moves to have the Great Northern Railway diverted through Terowie. In fact Peterborough became the major railway junction. The newspaper included news from more than 70 towns and localities. Coverage was concentrated on Peterborough, Terowie, Nackara, Dawson, Yunta, Yongala, Quorn and Orroroo. Much space was given to church news, particularly the local Catholic and Baptist churches. Syndicated material was freely used, a common but criticised practice. From 1910 there emerged more chatty social articles and increasing articles and advertisements relating to agriculture. Both World Wars brought a strong focus on the conflict. The government ruled that German-sounding 'Petersburg' must become 'Peterborough' and the newspaper became The Times and Northern Advertiser. Sports reports were dominated by football, reaching a peak in the years before the First World War. From 1919 a 'Times Medal' was created, awarded annually to the most popular local footballer. Photographs began appearing in 1896. The Times was one of a handful of South Australian country newspapers which commissioned a coloured lithographic supplement by FW Niven, included with the issue of 15 December 1893.

The first Australian Greek newspaper was Oceanis, founded in Adelaide in 1914 by George Nicolaides but subsequently moved to Sydney. Deltion Pharoy was Adelaide's next Greek community publication, and a little longer lasting. It changed its title to Pharos in its last year of publication.

This short lived newspaper was published for the Greek Pontian community in Adelaide. Its Greek title means ‘voice of Pontus’.

The Pictorial Australian was the culmination of local newspaper illustration by the Frearson brothers, Septimus, Samuel and Robert. It was the last of the old-style illustrated newspapers published in South Australia. Early editions featured the work of established local artists, but by 1893 almost the entire pictorial content was photographic. By 1887 the text expanded to include columns for women and children, reflecting the move to broader newspaper audiences of the time. This innovative and lively Adelaide newspaper closed in 1895, when the surviving Frearson brother moved to Western Australia.

This was the first country newspaper established by newspaperman James Barclay, in partnership with William Macfarlane. From 1911 it suffered by competition with the later Pinnaroo and Border Times. The older newspaper eventually closed in 1922.

This newspaper was founded by the Letheby family. It was a successful competitor with the older Pinaroo Country News, which was forced to close in 1922. The title changed to Border Times from 1987. In 2005 the Taylor family of the Murray Pioneer bought the newspaper.

This newspaper was published in the interests of the Single Tax League. It promoted land ownership reforms with the intention of supporting farmers. Harry Taylor seems to have been involved in the newspaper. The Pioneer ceased with the founding of The Voice newspaper by John Medway Day, which promoted similar reforms.

The Southern Yorke's Peninsula Pioneer (shortened to SYP Pioneer) was established by Ben Wilkinson in Yorketown in 1898. He was later joined by his brother Richard. The newspaper absorbed the Maitland Watch in 1969, and later became the short-lived Yorke Peninsula News Pictorial. For thirty years an opposition newspaper, the Clarion, existed.

This community newspaper covered the suburbs around Warradale and Seacombe Gardens.

The life of the Plain Dealer was tied strongly to the final years of the Wallaroo and Moonta Mining Company. As well as the demise of the famous copper mine, the newspaper reflects the political upheavals that took place in the district during and after the First World War. The Plain Dealer was a small and outspoken competitor to the long-running Kadina and Wallaroo Times, as other newspapers noticed: "[The Plain Dealer] ... takes a living interest in politics ... and is very outspoken and fearless on all topics of the day, especially those affecting the well-being of workers." (Central Advocate, 18 March, 1904, p. 2) Between 1901 and 1902 an interesting series of humorous articles appear, written in the Cornish dialect. Between 1906 and 1908 the Copper Age was printed as a mid-week subsidiary to the Plain Dealer.

In 1903 James Walker established the forerunner to the current Plains Producer, which he named the Central Advocate. In 1926 it was purchased by Amy Henstridge, formerly of the Stanley Herald, Snowtown. At this time the newspaper was named the Wooroora Producer, and later became simply The Producer. The newspaper was suspended during the Second World War, but reopened in 1946. Roger Manuel and his wife Margaret purchased the newspaper in 1983. In 1992 it was renamed the Plains Producer. The newspaper has won the BankSA Award for the best newspaper with a circulation under 5,000 in 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2008. Its area of coverage extends form Snowtown in the north to Virginia in the south.

Although only lasting a few months, this newspaper is interesting for its regular inclusion of songs and music by Jack Fewster and Tom King.

The founding editor of the Port Adelaide News was Captain David Scott. But after the bankruptcy of the founding company an experienced printer and journalist, Edwin Derrington, took over and doubled the newspaper’s size. From late in 1878 advertisements appear for a literary supplement, but copies of this were not retained in the State Library set. The newspaper contains editorials regarding topical issues such as the proposal for an Outer Harbour in 1878, the question of Chinese immigration to South Australia, and the activities of the Kelly Gang in the eastern colonies. It had regular sports reports, and news summaries. Under Derrington news items were printed on the front page – an unusual practice at the time, when advertisements generally appeared there. Proposals to build port facilities at Marino in competition with Port Adelaide brought fiery condemnation in the newspaper.

The founding editor of the Port Adelaide News was Captain David Scott. But after the bankruptcy of the founding company an experienced printer and journalist, Edwin Derrington, took over and doubled the newspaper’s size. From late in 1878 advertisements appear for a literary supplement, but copies of this were not retained in the State Library set. The newspaper contains editorials regarding topical issues such as the proposal for an Outer Harbour in 1878, the question of Chinese immigration to South Australia, and the activities of the Kelly Gang in the eastern colonies. It had regular sports reports, and news summaries. Under Derrington news items were printed on the front page – an unusual practice at the time, when advertisements generally appeared there. Proposals to build port facilities at Marino in competition with Port Adelaide brought fiery condemnation in the newspaper.

The Port Adelaide post was produced by partners James Young and Charles Morris, both of whom had prior association with the Adelaide press. Although intended to represent the interests of ‘Port Adelaideans’, the first issue had almost no local news apart from a report of the local police court and the newspaper continued to feature mainly English news. The newspaper survived for approximately six issues only.

James Taylor was a successful Gawler photographer. In the early 1880s he moved the business to Port Augusta. A family concern, his wife Isabella was one of the colony's first women 'portrait operators', and two sons followed their parents’ lead, experimenting in collotype publishing. (Collotype, a process used for printing photographs within publications, predated the cheaper offset lithography.) The Taylor’s small illustrated newspaper ran to just seven issues. Each contained collotypes of residents, sporting teams, visiting ships and local works – including the building of the copper smelters. Although well received, the newspaper ceased due to the pressures of the printing business, the family's main concern. News articles included local social events, sport, concerts, and club activities. The building of the smelters, shipping news and the early stages of the Transcontinental Railway were also covered. Apart from Port Augusta news coverage included the towns of Stirling, Tarcoola, Leigh Creek, Iron Knob and Quorn.

The number of settlements covered in the news columns of this newspaper are impressive. It was begun shortly after the incorporation of the town, with the aim of making the opinions of the people of the mid-north known to Adelaide decision-makers. The columns of the Dispatch were packed with the news of the multitude of tiny communities around Port Augusta, while the 'Adelaide letter' provided detailed news from the capital. Local sport in the form of cricket, chess and rifle shooting was reported. Football is not mentioned until the early 1900s. The printer, young David Drysdale, was captain in the volunteer militia and a member of the local rifle club, which ensured coverage of both bodies in the paper. The activities of the port were well represented, including controversial wharf extensions in 1882, the call to build smelters in 1898, and the misbehaviour of visiting sailors as represented in the court reports. For a brief period in 1901 a social column, 'Town gossip by Dolly Pertinax', appeared. The quality of the newspaper fell in the decades before its demise, although when Drysdale re-purchased the Dispatch in 1915, various improvements were made. An interesting double-page coloured lithographic supplement of Port Augusta scenes, prepared by Rider and Mercer of Ballarat, was published with the issue of 28 October 1892.

The number of settlements covered in the news columns of this newspaper are impressive. It was begun shortly after the incorporation of the town, with the aim of making the opinions of the people of the mid-north known to Adelaide decision-makers. The columns of the Dispatch were packed with the news of the multitude of tiny communities around Port Augusta, while the 'Adelaide letter' provided detailed news from the capital. Local sport in the form of cricket, chess and rifle shooting was reported. Football is not mentioned until the early 1900s. The printer, young David Drysdale, was captain in the volunteer militia and a member of the local rifle club, which ensured coverage of both bodies in the paper. The activities of the port were well represented, including controversial wharf extensions in 1882, the call to build smelters in 1898, and the misbehaviour of visiting sailors as represented in the court reports. For a brief period in 1901 a social column, 'Town gossip by Dolly Pertinax', appeared. The quality of the newspaper fell in the decades before its demise, although when Drysdale re-purchased the Dispatch in 1915, various improvements were made. An interesting double-page coloured lithographic supplement of Port Augusta scenes, prepared by Rider and Mercer of Ballarat, was published with the issue of 28 October 1892.

The number of settlements covered in the news columns of this newspaper are impressive. It was begun shortly after the incorporation of the town, with the aim of making the opinions of the people of the mid-north known to Adelaide decision-makers. The columns of the Dispatch were packed with the news of the multitude of tiny communities around Port Augusta, while the 'Adelaide letter' provided detailed news from the capital. Local sport in the form of cricket, chess and rifle shooting was reported. Football is not mentioned until the early 1900s. The printer, young David Drysdale, was captain in the volunteer militia and a member of the local rifle club, which ensured coverage of both bodies in the paper. The activities of the port were well represented, including controversial wharf extensions in 1882, the call to build smelters in 1898, and the misbehaviour of visiting sailors as represented in the court reports. For a brief period in 1901 a social column, 'Town gossip by Dolly Pertinax', appeared. The quality of the newspaper fell in the decades before its demise, although when Drysdale re-purchased the Dispatch in 1915, various improvements were made. An interesting double-page coloured lithographic supplement of Port Augusta scenes, prepared by Rider and Mercer of Ballarat, was published with the issue of 28 October 1892.

This was South Australia's first country newspaper. It came into existence in 1839 for the purpose of promoting the establishment of a harbour at Port Lincoln. The first issue was printed and published in Adelaide. Seven months later the second issue was printed in a hut at Port Lincoln. The newspaper was owned by Robert Thomas, of the South Australian Gazette and Colonial Register, and printed by George Dehane as co-owner. Later Charles Smith joined the partnership. The owners hoped Port Lincoln would become the capital of South Australia. This did not eventuate and Thomas and Smith withdrew, leaving Dehane to continue the newspaper alone under the title Adelaide General Advertizer and Port Lincoln Herald. The newspaper contained articles promoting Port Lincoln, advertisements for its first businesses, and general news which included a report of the coming marriage of Queen Victoria. Only three issues are held by the State Library although at least six are known to have been published.

This newspaper was founded by Maurice Hill and Ken Robertson. As with several country newspapers, publishing ceased for some years during the Second World War. Since its early years there was been much coverage given to agriculture and sport. By the 1960s the Hill family had given the newspaper the look of a city newspaper, with big front page headlines, sport action photographs and large advertisements. In 1990 the newspaper was taken over by Rural Press, which is now part of Fairfax Media.

David Drysdale of the Port Augusta Dispatch established this Port Lincoln newspaper in 1904. Initially he used many syndicated articles, but also published news reports, sport results and agricultural articles relevant to the Eyre Peninsula communities. Subsequent owner, Rebecca McGregor of the Challenger, was approached to sell the title in 1925. When she refused, Maurice Hill and JE Edwards established the rival Port Lincoln Times. The restrictions to labour and paper caused by the Second World War caused the Recorder to close in 1942. Its subscriptions were transferred to the Times.

This was a free newspaper founded in competition with the older Port Pirie Standard, and the Port Pirie Advocate. The owner, Robert Osborne, owned several newspapers in the mid-north. He ran the small newspaper for almost thirty years with his printer, William Hancock, later joined by Osborne’s brother, Stanley. The newspaper mostly kept a low political profile, but when expressed, its politics supported the Liberal Party and conservatism. This was in contrast to the more socialist views held by the other Port Pirie newspapers. An unusual early feature was a mining column by Robinson Banyer of Kapunda. The newspaper gave increasing space to articles about farming, particularly in the 1920s. At various times ‘newsletters’ (reports) from more than 70 towns and districts around Port Pirie were published in the newspaper. The most regular reports were from Port Germein (in early issues), Petersburg, Quorn, Georgetown and Balaklava. The latter two places were particularly well covered.

Following the closure of the Port Pirie Gazette, Walter South established the Port Pirie Advocate. From the beginning the Advocate was outspoken on political issues. Early editorials reflect the strong socialist views of the owners. Local stationer, Andrew Dungey, wrote regularly to the Advocate, and at one time had his own column discussing ‘land nationalisation’ and (Christian) Social Democracy. The newspaper was a strong supporter of the emerging Labor Party. It gave good coverage to sport, a feature which grew from this period across most of the country press. The geographical coverage included Broken Hill, south to Kapunda, and up to Port Augusta. The most regular reports in early issues were from the towns of Caltowie, Wandearah, Port Germein, Petersburg and Kapunda.

Following the closure of the Port Pirie Gazette, Walter South established the Port Pirie Advocate. From the beginning the Advocate was outspoken on political issues. Early editorials reflect the strong socialist views of the owners. Local stationer, Andrew Dungey, wrote regularly to the Advocate, and at one time had his own column discussing ‘land nationalisation’ and (Christian) Social Democracy. The newspaper was a strong supporter of the emerging Labor Party. It gave good coverage to sport, a feature which grew from this period across most of the country press. The geographical coverage included Broken Hill, south to Kapunda, and up to Port Augusta. The most regular reports in early issues were from the towns of Caltowie, Wandearah, Port Germein, Petersburg and Kapunda.

Although wool and wheat were exported from Port Pirie from the 1840s, the town was not incorporated until 1876. Nor did it have a newspaper until that year. Much of the news in the Port Pirie Gazette was connected with the town's main livelihood - shipping. Promotion of the interests of the port, news of shipping arrivals and departures, regattas, and the activities of visiting sailors (including their appearances in the local courts), deaths by drowning and a variety of related articles fill the newspaper. It had a wide geographic circulation, but the most frequently reported towns included Napperby (Government Dam), Georgetown, Gladstone and Port Germein. Sports news consisted of reports of cricket matches and the annual regatta. An interesting feature in 1883 was a series of ‘letters’ purporting to be written by new female members of the Salvation Army (‘Alleluyia Arriet’ and ‘Unhappy Sal’), discussing the pros and cons of this new and controversial religious group. Owner/editor Tom Anthony was not pleased in 1877 when a rival newspaper was established to cover the 'Areas, titled the Areas Express. By 1884 Anthony was very bitter about the lack of support he felt in Port Pirie, and closed the newspaper.

Port Pirie's longest running newspaper was founded by Albert South and Charles Meyrick in 1898 as a merger of their respective newspapers, the Port Pirie Advocate and Port Pirie Standard. It has been a daily since 1914. In 1919 the title was shortened to simply the Recorder. In 1971 the newspaper briefly combined with the Transcontinental (Port Augusta) and became the Northern Observer. The Recorder has had a variety of owners, but in 1991 was taken over by Rural Press, which is now part of Fairfax Media.

Port Pirie's longest running newspaper was founded by Albert South and Charles Meyrick in 1898 as a merger of their respective newspapers, the Port Pirie Advocate and Port Pirie Standard. It was formed by South combining the Port Pirie Advocate with his Port Pirie Standard. It has been a daily since 1914. In 1919 the title was shortened to simply the Recorder. In 1971 the newspaper briefly combined with the Transcontinental (Port Augusta) and became the Northern Observer. The Recorder has had a variety of owners, but in 1991 was taken over by Rural Press, which is now part of Fairfax Media.

This newspaper was established in competition with the older Port Pirie Advocate. Politically, the Standard was a supporter of labour, for example reporting sympathetically on the strike by 250 Port Pirie stevedores in 1889. However, from 1895 under owner/editor Charles Meyrick, the newspaper was more conservative disagreeing with the Labor government of Charles Kingston, and disparaging the political Woman's Christian Temperance Union. In 1894 when South Australian women gained the right to vote, editor Berkley Dunn asked, ‘Who are the females, who in many respects, have practically unsexed themselves, that are now clamouring for this change? ...’ (12 July 1894, p. 2). The Standard did not print news from surrounding towns in the way that most country newspapers did. The exception was a Port Germein news column. News from Laura, Crystal Brook and Wandearah also appeared. Local sport was a prominent feature, and like Adelaide newspapers a variety of writers contributed for different sports. The issue of 17 September 1891 contained a coloured lithograph produced by F.W. Niven of Ballarat ‘Views of Port Pirie, South Australia’. In July 1898 Standard amalgamated with the Port Pirie Advocate, to become the Port Pirie Recorder. The Recorder is the current newspaper of the town.

This was a short-lived independent newspaper published in competition to the Recorder.

The Port Wakefield Times was published by Edward Richardson of Port Wakefield. It mainly comprised advertisements for local business. There were snippets of local news and very brief items from adjacent towns such as Balaklava, Hoyleton and Blyth. Only one issue is known to exist.

The Portonian was founded by the eccentric South African Duncan Moodie. The intention was to provide a news reporting forum for Port Adelaide. However, most space was given to criticising the South Australian Parliament. Politicians, including local M.P. John Hart, religious leaders and the governor were targeted. The journalist Spencer Skipper wrote for the Portonian and John Eden Savill ('Cerberus') provided cartoons. The Portonian articles were of a high quality and Savill's political cartoons were a major attraction. (Some of these were re-published as a book.) W. Pyndar Willis was a later cartoonist. South African news filled the columns later, in particular news of the Anglo-Zulu War in 1879. The Portonian ceased without notice in May 1879.

In 1903 James Walker established the forerunner to the Plains Producer, which he named the Central Advocate. In 1926 this was purchased by Amy Henstridge of the Stanley Herald at Snowtown. At this time the newspaper was named the Wooroora Producer, and later became simply The Producer. The newspaper was suspended during the Second World War, but reopened in 1946. Roger Manuel and his wife Margaret purchased the newspaper in 1983. In 1992 it was renamed the Plains Producer. The newspaper has won the BankSA Award for the best newspaper with a circulation under 5,000 in 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2008. Its area of coverage extends from Snowtown in the north, to Virginia in the south.

The Progressive Times began as the organ of the Largs North Progress Association. By 1951 it was the official organ of the Taperoo and District Progressive Association, and the Ozone Kine Club for Port Adelaide, Semaphore and Alberton. It took the format of a 'magazine paper'. It was taken over in 1951 as the basis for the first Messenger newspaper.

This religious newspaper was established with the backing of George Fife Angas, and was printed and published by James Heath Lewis. Angas worked hard during the 1870 election campaign to block Roman Catholic candidates from being elected to the South Australian Parliament. This newspaper continued the campaign. This was a particularly difficult period for South Australian Catholics, with the death of Archbishop Sheil amid internal conflicts and the excommunication of Mary MacKillop. The Protestant Advocate made the most of this, printing, for example, a letter in its issue of 6 April 1872 denouncing MacKillop and the ‘scandalous’ behaviour of her nuns. This article caused Lewis to be fined for libel. The Protestant Advocate was much berated by other newspapers of the time. It appears to have ceased in 1875. The Portonian published a barbed cartoon depicting the newspaper as a cart being driven by the devil in its issue of 14 September 1872.

This was a small comic paper founded by the cartoonist Jeffery Bruer when the long-running Lantern ceased. Besides cartoons, there was some coverage of sport and the theatre, and the usual satirical/political comment found in most 19th century comic papers. Bruer initially drew the front page portraits and the main cartoon himself, while the unsigned inside double page montage of the week's events is in the style of Ambrose Dyson's work for the Critic. Quilp seems to have ceased in 1891. In 1897 Bruer was contributing cartoons for the first issues of the Critic newspaper.

Quiz was founded by Harry Evans and Alfred Chandler, two Advertiser journalists. The pair purchased the old satirical comic paper, the Lantern, as the basis for their venture. Harry Craker, James Hutchison and Alfred Smith were also involved in the publication. Quiz appealed to the new, more educated readers of late nineteenth century Adelaide. It mixed political and social comment with cartoons and quips, sports and theatre reporting, and snippets of social news. The tone was light and racy, and at the proprietors twice found themselves in court for libel over less flattering reports of theatre performers. By 1898 Quiz included photographs, including sporting photographs. In 1914 Quiz combined with the Sporting Life newspaper. In its final years the journal concentrated increasingly on sports reporting, particularly horse racing.

Quiz was founded by Harry Evans and Alfred Chandler, two Advertiser journalists. The pair purchased the old satirical comic paper, the Lantern, as the basis for their venture. Harry Craker, James Hutchison and Alfred Smith were also involved in the publication. Quiz appealed to the new, more educated readers of late nineteenth century Adelaide. It mixed political and social comment with cartoons and quips, sports and theatre reporting, and snippets of social news. The tone was light and racy, and at the proprietors twice found themselves in court for libel over less flattering reports of theatre performers. By 1898 Quiz included photographs, including sporting photographs. In 1914 Quiz combined with the Sporting Life newspaper. In its final years the journal concentrated increasingly on sports reporting, particularly horse racing.

Quiz was founded by Harry Evans and Alfred Chandler, two Advertiser journalists. The pair purchased the old satirical comic paper, the Lantern, as the basis for their venture. Harry Craker, James Hutchison and Alfred Smith were also involved in the publication. Quiz appealed to the new, more educated readers of late nineteenth century Adelaide. It mixed political and social comment with cartoons and quips, sports and theatre reporting, and snippets of social news. The tone was light and racy, and at the proprietors twice found themselves in court for libel over less flattering reports of theatre performers. By 1898 Quiz included photographs, including sporting photographs. In 1914 Quiz combined with the Sporting Life newspaper. In its final years the journal concentrated increasingly on sports reporting, particularly horse racing.

Quiz was founded by Harry Evans and Alfred Chandler, two Advertiser journalists. The pair purchased the old satirical comic paper, the Lantern, as the basis for their venture. Harry Craker, James Hutchison and Alfred Smith were also involved in the publication. Quiz appealed to the new, more educated readers of late nineteenth century Adelaide. It mixed political and social comment with cartoons and quips, sports and theatre reporting, and snippets of social news. The tone was light and racy, and at the proprietors twice found themselves in court for libel over less flattering reports of theatre performers. By 1898 Quiz included photographs, including sporting photographs. In 1914 Quiz combined with the Sporting Life newspaper. In its final years the journal concentrated increasingly on sports reporting, particularly horse racing.

The Mercury was founded by Robert Osborne as an adjunct to the Petersburg Times. Initially it was a simple four page spread. Local advertisements were on the front page, local news on the back, while the two inside pages consisted of syndicated articles and stories. In the 19th century, correspondents from a myriad of settlements around Quorn forwarded news items to the newspaper. However news from Quorn, Peterborough and Port Pirie featured. In 1922 news items began appearing on the front page, instead of the usual advertising, beginning with that season's football reports. (The innovation of front page news did not reach the city newspapers for another 20 years.) When Frank Pitman took over in 1923 more prominence was given to local Quorn news. In 1945 the newspaper was obtained by the Transcontinental (Port Augusta). The Mercury ceased in 1956, replaced by a Quorn column in the Transcontinental.

This was a newspaper for radio enthusiasts and listeners.

Only one issue of the Ratepayer appears to have been published. It was one of the free community newspapers appearing in the Adelaide suburbs before the Second World War. Produced by the West Torrens Ratepayers’ Association, it comprised commentary on Council activities and articles about organisations such as the local Mothers and Babies’ Health Association.

The Burra Record was initially titled the Northern Mail. In 1878 it was taken over by Town Clerk-turned MP and eventual Premier, Frederick Holder. The Record and its offshoot, the Terowie Enterprise, reflected Holder’s political views. The Record changed hands several times, but continued until 1977 when, with the Orroroo Enterprise, it was taken over by the Port Pirie Recorder to become the Review-Times-Record.

Port Pirie's longest running newspaper was founded by Albert South and Charles Meyrick in 1898 as a merger of their respective newspapers, the Port Pirie Advocate and Port Pirie Standard. It has been a daily since 1914. In 1919 the title was shortened to simply the Recorder when it was bought by JE Davidson. Davidson was later the founder of the News. In 1971 the Recorder was briefly merged with the Transcontinental and became the Northern Observer. The move was not popular, and the two titles resumed separate publication. In 1991 it was sold to Rural Press, which is now part of Fairfax Media.

This was South Australia’s first newspaper. It was founded by partners Robert Thomas and George Stevenson under the auspices of the Public Officers of the Colonisation Commission. It is the major printed source covering the establishment of the colony. In some cases it is the only source describing events such as the first government land sales, and the establishment of schools, businesses, churches and self-government. For nearly one hundred years it was Adelaide’s morning paper. It was arguably a better quality newspaper than its competitor, the Advertiser. The Register was purchased by Keith Murdoch of the Melbourne Herald in 1929. It continued under a new title and new format as the Register-News Pictorial, a pictorial newspaper. It finally closed in 1931. The Observer was the Register’s weekly version, and the Journal was its associated evening title.

This was South Australia’s first newspaper. It was founded by partners Robert Thomas and George Stevenson under the auspices of the Public Officers of the Colonisation Commission. It is the major printed source covering the establishment of the colony. In some cases it is the only source describing events such as the first government land sales, and the establishment of schools, businesses, churches and self-government. For nearly one hundred years it was Adelaide’s morning paper. It was arguably a better quality newspaper than its competitor, the Advertiser. The Register was purchased by Keith Murdoch of the Melbourne Herald in 1929. It continued under a new title and new format as the Register-News Pictorial, a pictorial newspaper. It finally closed in 1931. The Observer was the Register’s weekly version, and the Journal was its associated evening title.

The Pioneer began in 1892 as a hand-written chromograph publication under the editorship of Arthur Pitman Corrie, with cartoons by the local Methodist minister, John Jenkin. The following year Corrie purchased a printing press, and in 1895 Sydney Browne took over the Pioneer. In 1905 it was purchased by Harry Taylor. Taylor had been involved in the New Australia migration to Paraguay in the 1890s. He turned the newspaper into a progressive and vigorous journal with a strong community focus. It also became well-known for its practical agricultural advice. The Taylor family have owned the newspaper ever since. In recent decades the Taylors have progressively purchased five other country newspapers. All are printed at Renmark.

This title continued the Southern News Review.

Only one issue of William Cawthorne's illustrated newspaper is known to have survived. Cawthorne previously published the Illustrated Adelaide Post, a local version of the Illustrated Melbourne Post. His obituary claimed he was ‘the first to introduce illustrated newspapers for regular sale in the colony’ (Adelaide Observer, 2 October 1897, p. 35). The Review was largely an advertising medium for his shop, but also contained reviews of English periodicals sold by Cawthorne. The editorial contained comments on Adelaide religious happenings, in particular Bishop Shiel's denouncing of the Irish Harp during ongoing debate involving Mary MacKillop and her order of sisters.

The Review-Times was formed by the merger of three mid-northern newspapers including: Northern Review (Jamestown), Times (Peterborough), and Orroroo Enterprise. During the second half of 1972 two editions were published, a city edition and a country edition. The title changed to Review-Times-Record in 1977 when the Burra Record also became part of the proprietary. In 1989 the title became Flinders News.

The Review-Times was formed by the merger of three mid-northern newspapers including: Northern Review (Jamestown), Times (Peterborough), and Orroroo Enterprise. During the second half of 1972 two editions were published, a city edition and a country edition. The title changed to Review-Times-Record in 1977 when the Burra Record also became part of the proprietary. In 1989 the title became Flinders News.

The Review-Times was formed by the merger of three mid-northern newspapers including: Northern Review (Jamestown), Times (Peterborough), and Orroroo Enterprise. During the second half of 1972 two editions were published, a city edition and a country edition. The title changed to Review-Times-Record in 1977 when the Burra Record also became part of the proprietary. In 1989 the title became Flinders News.

The Review-Times was formed by the merger of three mid-northern newspapers including: Northern Review (Jamestown), Times (Peterborough), and Orroroo Enterprise. During the second half of 1972 two editions were published, a city edition and a country edition. The title changed to Review-Times-Record in 1977 when the Burra Record also became part of the proprietary. In 1989 the title became Flinders News.

The Review-Times was formed by the merger of three mid-northern newspapers including: Northern Review (Jamestown), Times (Peterborough), and Orroroo Enterprise. During the second half of 1972 two editions were published, a city edition and a country edition. The title changed to Review-Times-Record in 1977 when the Burra Record also became part of the proprietary. In 1989 the title became Flinders News.

The Review-Times was formed by the merger of three mid-northern newspapers including: Northern Review (Jamestown), Times (Peterborough), and Orroroo Enterprise. During the second half of 1972 two editions were published, a city edition and a country edition. The title changed to Review-Times-Record in 1977 when the Burra Record also became part of the proprietary. In 1989 the title became Flinders News.

The River News was begun by Colin Hetzel of the Waikerie Printing House with his wife Meg. It was founded as a direct result of the 1956 Murray River floods. The newspaper was sold to the Murray Pioneer in 1962 and remains in the ownership of the Taylor family of Renmark.

Roma was a short-lived Italian language community newspaper. Only four issues were published.

Andrew Dungey was a Port Pirie stationer with strong political and social opinions. His particular interests were 'land nationalisation' (government ownership of land) and the principles of free-trade. Many of his beliefs were based on Henry George's theories of (Christian) Social Democracy. Dungey was a prolific writer of letters to the Port Pirie Advocate. Between 1888 and 1890 he had a regular column. His own short-lived newspaper, Roughshod, railed against the wealthy, the established churches (including the newly-founded Salvation Army) and individual politicians. Dungey espoused a system of single tax, universal voting rights, land nationalisation and unionism, with a belief in ‘the universal fatherhood and church of God.’ His unconventional ideas were part of a wider Australian political and social ferment in the 1890s.

The Roxby Downs Sun was founded in 1988 under the title Northern Sun. This was the first newspaper for the mining camp of Olympic Dam.

This was the country version of the popular Adelaide Trading Post. It had various titles at different times.