SA Newspapers: F-L

Farm and Garden was founded at the suggestion of Daniel Ferguson of the South Australian Agricultural and Horticultural Society. The newspaper was published in association with the Register. It was full of articles about a range of agricultural topics, many by local experts including agricultural scientist Dr Carl Muecke, GW Francis of the Adelaide Botanical Gardens, George McEwin of Glen Ewin Estate, JF Wood of Evandale Nurseries and CA Wilson. Later the newspaper included more diverse material, such as poems by 'Ellie', a ladies' column, a literary column and a chess column. By June 1863 adverse seasons had increased the difficulty of remaining afloat and the newspaper ceased. From that time the associated Adelaide Observer newspaper included some agricultural focus.

This newspaper was a continuation of the long-running Yorke's Peninsula Advertiser.

Ebenezer Ward MP published this newspaper, continuing his earlier Northern Guardian. Ward was mostly editor and leader writer. His own political activities were fully covered together with less favourable reports of his opponents, particularly James Boucaut. The focus was also on agricultural matters. In 1874 columns included the memoirs of a police trooper ('Mike O'Reilly') and the satirical series 'How South Australia is governed' as well as articles about pastoralists such as Thomas Elder and Thomas Hardy. From 1876 wood-cut illustrations of local scenes were included. Later the newspaper contained mostly advertisements.

This was essentially a trade journal, but includes a range of articles of a more general newspaper style, and employed newspaper journalists on its staff. During the Boer War it published articles by a well-known (Australian) war correspondent, Horace Spooner.

This was essentially a trade journal, but includes a range of articles of a more general newspaper style, and employed newspaper journalists on its staff. During the Boer War it published articles by a well-known (Australian) war correspondent, Horace Spooner.

This was essentially a trade journal, but includes a range of articles of a more general newspaper style, and employed newspaper journalists on its staff. During the Boer War it published articles by a well-known (Australian) war correspondent, Horace Spooner.

This was the newspaper of the Adelaide Filipino community.

The First of April Cracker is an April Fool's Day joke, probably produced by James Allen. It may have been part of a series of single issue annual newspapers which began with Timothy Short's Journal of Passing Events published by Nathaniel Hailes in 1847. Like a normal newspaper, the Cracker contains a shipping column, advertisements, and news items, but each is written in a satirical fashion.

This newspaper seems to have been published as a supplement to the Ukranian community's Yednist newspaper. Its aim was to expose the 'dangers' of Communism, particularly as this existed in the Soviet Union at this period.

The Flinders News originated with the formation of the Review-Times in 1970. The Review-Times was formed by the merger of several struggling mid-northern newspapers including: Northern Review (Jamestown), Peterborough Times, Orroroo Enterprise, Areas Express (Gladstone) and Crystal Brook Courier. The title changed to Review-Times-Record in 1977 when the Burra Record also became part of the proprietary. In 1989 the title became Flinders News. It is now part of the Fairfax Media group.

This newspaper was published during the football season for the South Australian National Football League, by Messenger Press. The first editor was Ashley Hornsey.

This was the South Australian edition of a Melbourne-based football newspaper.

In 1880 the Frearson brothers changed the title of their popular Illustrated Adelaide News to Frearson's Monthly Illustrated Adelaide News. There was also a change from the earlier conservative editorial policy and sensational reporting to a more neutral stance and an emphasis on illustrations. Frearson’s Monthly was filled with illustrations of places and buildings around South Australia, often including a coloured art supplement and also published ‘birdseye views’ of Adelaide and Port Adelaide.

Frearson's Weekly was established by the Frearson brothers in 1878 as a second illustrated newspaper. This followed the success of their Monthly Illustrated Adelaide News. The weekly was published on a Saturday. It initially took a more satirical and comic approach than the older title, filling its pages with cartoons and political comment. The first few issues included front page editorials and interesting wood-cut cartoon illustrations commenting on issues of the day.

The Free Press was an interesting but short-lived newspaper. It was one of several short-lived titles produced by the outspoken Charles Chandler, founder of the Truth newspaper (Adelaide), and author of Darkest Adelaide. It was published in the year after South Australian women achieved the right to vote, and was not in favour of the legislation change. It contains many derisive comments about women's movements and prominent individuals in these organisations. Its strongest statements however, are against prostitution, making libellous allegations about ‘old colonists,’ church members and MPs who allegedly kept mistresses and visited prostitutes. Even the short stories in the newspaper took this theme. The Free Press made unflattering comments about several well-known figures, including Catherine Helen Spence, Samuel Way and Charles Cameron Kingston.

Frederick Frith intended that the bulletin would be published every four weeks, but only this one was known to have been printed. It consisted of eight pages and included a short story, school column, world news, health hints, council minutes, sport and articles about agriculture by South Australian experts.

This was essentially a literary and satirical newspaper founded by CJ Dennis with other staff of the Critic. Novelist Alice Grant Rosman wrote for the journal as 'Aunt Tabitha'. Oswald Pryor was the cartoonist.

This was produced by two Adelaide printers, Albert Molineux and Samuel Richards. The newspaper was extremely successful and in 1901 opened a Melbourne office and increased publication from monthly to weekly. It even had an international distribution. Contributors included vigneron Thomas Hardy on wine and vine growing, Henry Sewell of Payneham Nursery wrote 'gardening notes' and Otto Tepper of the South Australian Museum wrote about pests, lawn growing, and other topics. Later JG Kelly of McLaren Vale complied a vineyard notes column, and Robert Barr Smith's gardener, Carl Thybell, wrote as 'Gardener'. In May 1891 Molineux sold to William Catton Grasby, formerly headmaster of Roseworthy Agricultural College, and later an agricultural teacher at Way College. During Grasby’s editorship the journal became weekly and increased its international circulation. In 1893 lithographic and then photographic illustrations were introduced. It continued until 1940, when publication ceased due to wartime paper shortages.

This newspaper was aimed at readers at Port Adelaide and Woodville.

The Gawler Standard was the first penny newspaper published in country South Australia. It was established in opposition to the Bunyip newspaper. The newspaper contained local news, and included items from correspondents as far away as Port Pirie, and closer to home from Kapunda, Williamstown, Lyndoch, and the other towns of the Barossa. There was much editorial comment on political and social topics of the time. From 1879 well-known local writer Agnes Neale (Caroline Agnes Leane) contributed serial stories to the newspaper. In 1885 when an arsonist set fire to the Bunyip printery, the Gawler Standard was closed and its equipment sold to William Barnet of the Bunyip.

The Gawler Times was founded by John Baptist Austin during the Barossa Valley gold rush. It covered activities at the diggings and associated settlements. It also published other news and a serialised story. The Times closed when the gold deposits were exhausted and mining ceased.

This began as a community magazine for Woomera residents.

This newspaper records news for the seaside suburb in the years when it was still more of a community than a suburb. The newspaper reflects preoccupations specific to this community, such as the, ‘entire absence of modesty’ of a group of young men and women playing leap-frog (together) in 1915, a councillor's complaints about organised sport on Sundays in 1945, and a local optician warning that wearing sunglasses inside might be injurious to the eyes in 1955. More general issues included the Conscription debate during the First World War. This newspaper was taken over by the Messenger Press in 1964, becoming the Guardian Messenger.

This newspaper contained strong local political commentary. Topics including issues with the Glenelg tram and the Patawalonga figured strongly. There were also lengthy social columns. From 1939 photographs were included in the newspaper.

This newspaper was founded as an opposition newspaper to the Glenelg Guardian, following controversy over the 1922 local council election. It gives detailed local government commentary, and covers the early years of the Glenelg Football Club. It also includes obituaries of local people, and lots of cinema news in the days of silent films. Geographical coverage includes Brighton and Seacliff.

The free Glenelg News Pictorial took a ‘breezy’ approach to local news. It published plenty of photographs of local views, businesses, and pretty girls. It also aimed for items of interest to ‘the younger generation.’ Storm damage to the North Esplanade (21 July 1964, pp. 1-2) and discussion about whether television was causing a downturn in library membership (18 August 1964, pp. 1) were among the headline topics. A women's page compiled by Rae Pretty included recipes, advice and wedding photographs. The newspaper was distributed fortnightly in Glenelg, Marion and Brighton, but concentrated on Glenelg news. Only nine issues appear to have been published.

This was a free newspaper published by the Victor Harbour Times covering the whole of the Fleurieu Peninsula.

This was a long running Greek community newspaper. Its Greek title was Ellenika Nea.

This was a journal of theatre news with some social news included.

This was a country version of the Adelaide Trading Post. It had various titles at differing periods.

This newspaper was published by Ebenezer Ward, a colourful 19th century politician, who was however, a firm advocate for the farmers he represented. Ward was elected MP for Gumeracha in 1870, and started the Gumeracha Guardian in that year. The title changed when he moved the newspaper to Clare. Ward advocated radical land reforms to allow more working men to become land owners.

This Messenger Press newspaper began as the Glenelg Guardian.

This is the Messenger Press newspaper covering Glenelg and the surrounding beach suburbs.

This newspaper was published by Gazette Newspapers, a free suburban newspaper publisher. For a time the publisher produced newspapers in opposition to the Messenger Press.

This newspaper was published by Ebenezer Ward, a colourful 19th century politician, who was a firm advocate for the farmers he represented. Ward was elected MP for Gumeracha in 1870, and started this newspaper in that year. He advocated radical land reforms to allow more working men to become land owners. Geographical coverage is particularly strong for Gumeracha and Tungkillo, although news also appears from many of the adjacent towns.

Five issues of this newspaper were published. The publisher used a syndicated sheet, placing local news on the outer (front and back) pages. It is identical with the Owen's Weekly, apart from the title.

Although this newspaper was a semi-official Catholic organ, it had a strained relationship with the church. When owner/editor Charles Fox was bankrupt in 1874 the newspaper passed to John Hewitt. It was originally titled the Irish Harp and Farmers' Journal. The newspaper began with the intention of focussing on news from Ireland for the Irish in South Australia.

This was a literary supplement to the Neue Deutsche Zeitung fur Australien.

Taylor Martin published the German Language newspaper Hausfreund in Adelaide in 1894, out of the Register office. Only the first issue is known to exist. This contains brief South Australian, interstate and overseas news, as well as advertisements, a page of jokes, and a serial story set in the German army.

Ellenike Paroikia was the newspaper of the Adelaide Greek community in the early 1980s.

This was the organ of the Labor and Union movement in South Australia. The newspaper contained reports of the labour organisations and political commentary. It also covered sport, literature, and the theatre. Special contributors included Catherine Helen Spence and Otto Tepper. The newspaper was so successful that in 1910 it became Australia's only daily Labour newspaper.

Under various titles the South Australian Branch of the Australian Labor Party and its predecessors have published a newspaper since 1894.

The Barossa and Light Herald was formed by the merger of the Barossa News and the Kapunda Herald. In 2012 the Herald boasted the largest circulation for a country newspaper in South Australia at 21,400 copies distributed free, weekly. In the 1990s the newspaper became part of the Rural Press group, now Fairfax Media.

This was a Ukranian community newspaper. Its title translates as 'concord'.

This illustrated newspaper was published by brothers Samuel and Septimus Frearson. The Frearsons were also the printers of Duncan Moodie’s comic paper, the Portonian. The introductory editorial promised more local content than the colony’s other illustrated newspaper. The editorial stance of the newspaper was initially liberal. By mid-1877 an apparent change of editor saw a shift to a more conservative political stance. From 1879 the newspaper reporting also became more sensational. This change was probably influenced by the co-publication of the more satirical Frearson’s Weekly in 1878. In 1880 the title changed from Illustrated Adelaide News to Frearson’s Monthly Illustrated Adelaide News.

This was South Australia’s first fully illustrated newspaper. As a subsidiary of the Illustrated Melbourne Post it contained predominantly Victorian news and illustrations. Local content was usually restricted to one illustration and a front page column of South Australian news. Illustrations were of a variety of subjects, including buildings, scenery, people and Aboriginal subjects. Some may have been engravings of original artwork by the paper’s founder, the amateur anthropologist William Anderson Cawthorne.

This was a title variation of the long-running official Methodist newspaper for South Australia. Its illustrations were syndicated lithographs on both religious and a variety of other subjects.

This newspaper naturally focussed on Victorian scenes and events. From late 1863 it regularly included illustrations depicting other states. South Australian artist and amateur anthropologist, WA Cawthorne, began contributing illustrations at this time. Later he founded the Illustrated Adelaide Post. The Melbourne Post’s ‘Adelaide edition’ varied only marginally from the main edition, with one article of local news and a page of South Australian advertisements.

Only one issue of this sporting newspaper has survived. Sport and the theatre tended to be reported together in the 19th century.

The Independent Weekly was founded as an alternative news source to South Australia's Murdoch-owned press. Alex Kennedy was the inaugural editor. The newspaper took a strong arts focus. Since 2011 it has been published as on-line version only, Indaily.

This was an extreme left-wing newspaper published as a vehicle for the International Industrial Workers, a ‘revolutionary Labor movement.’ The first issue stated, ‘We are out to destroy the capitalist state.’ (February 1920, p. 2) Many articles discuss the Russian political situation. There is discussion about the formation of the ‘One Big Union’ and the plight of twelve IWW members sent to Long Bay Prison for a supposed arson attack in Sydney. Local news includes coverage of unrest amongst soldier settlers and unionists at Glossop Soldier Settlement. Only nine issues of the newspaper seem to have been published.

This was the ‘semi-official organ of the Roman Catholic Church.’ (Gawler Times, 22 September 1871, p. 2) However, its relationship with the church was at times strained. Bishop Shiel denounced the newspaper in 1871 for its support of Mary MacKillop at the time of her excommunication. The Franciscan, Br Charles Horan, declared the newspaper, ‘a cancer on the bosom of Catholicism.’ (Funeral oration on the Rt Rev Dr Shiel ..., p. 8) The newspaper was established by James O'Dwyer Hennessey, in part to provide more detailed home news for Irish immigrants. Charles Fox was the editor in 1871.

The Kangaroo Island newspaper was begun by Neville Cordes in a newsletter format. It was established in competition to the Kangaroo Island Courier, which was actually published at Glenelg.

The Islander was founded as a newsletter in 1967. It has had two title changes. The newspaper was sold to Rural Press (now Fairfax Media) in 1995.

The Islander was founded as a newsletter in 1967, in competition to the existing Kangaroo Island Courier newspaper which was published at Glenelg. The Islander has had two title changes. The newspaper was sold to Rural Press (now Fairfax Media) in 1995.

The Journal (originally titled Evening journal) was established by the Register in 1869 as an afternoon newspaper. It summarised the morning headlines and printed sports results. During the First World War the Journal was an important means of disseminating information about the conflict by publishing various editions, including a 'special cable edition.' The Friday edition had a particular focus on sports news. The Saturday edition was a larger issue with week-end reading matter, including sports and humour. The Journal was also a place where hopeful writers and poets might have their work published. In 1923 the weekday publishing rights of both the Journal and the rival Express were purchased by the newly established News. However, the separately published Saturday Journal continued until 1929, when it merged with the Advertiser’s Saturday Express to become the Express and Journal.

Kangaroo Island's first newspaper was published at Glenelg by the Glenelg Guardian.

Despite two pre-existing newspapers in the district, the Wallaroo Times gained an advantage by publishing more frequently at twice weekly. In 1888 the newspaper moved to Kadina. Reporting covered Kadina and Wallaroo, and to a lesser extent also Moonta. Initially the newspaper was outspoken, advocating free trade and independence from Britain. Its low opinion of politicians caused a Parliamentary debate about the newspaper's 'contempt of this House.' (18 June 1870, p. 3-4) It became more conservative under editor David Bews, but supported votes for women. (25 July 1885, p. 2) The newspaper gave much space to mining, including the 1865, 1874 and 1891/92 miners’ strikes. Local Methodism was reflected strongly, but space was also given to Roman Catholic news. Early issues occasionally contained articles in the Welsh language. (19 July 1865, p. 3, and 16 October 1867, p. 3) In 1963 the newspaper was taken over by the (Moonta) People's Weekly and eventually became part of the Yorke Peninsula Country Times.

Despite two pre-existing newspapers in the district, the Wallaroo Times gained an advantage by publishing more frequently at twice weekly. In 1888 the newspaper moved to Kadina. Reporting covered Kadina and Wallaroo, and to a lesser extent also Moonta. Initially the newspaper was outspoken, advocating free trade and independence from Britain. Its low opinion of politicians caused a Parliamentary debate about the newspaper's 'contempt of this House.' (18 June 1870, p. 3-4) It became more conservative under editor David Bews, but supported votes for women. (25 July 1885, p. 2) The newspaper gave much space to mining, including the 1865, 1874 and 1891/92 miners’ strikes. Local Methodism was reflected strongly, but space was also given to Roman Catholic news. Early issues occasionally contained articles in the Welsh language. (19 July 1865, p. 3, and 16 October 1867, p. 3) In 1963 the newspaper was taken over by the (Moonta) People's Weekly and eventually became part of the Yorke Peninsula Country Times.

Three issues of a weekly handwritten newsletter published by men of German background interred on Torrens Island during the First World War have survived. The camp had a reputation for harsh treatment, and the third issue of the newsletter refers to captured escapees being flogged. Conditions in the camp were the subject of a court of enquiry. As a result, it was closed in August 1915, with inmates being transferred to Holdsworthy camp near Liverpool in New South Wales. The title Kamerad translates as ‘Comrade’ or ‘Mate’.

This was Kangaroo Island's first newspaper. It was taken over by the Glenelg Guardian in 1951.

The Kapunda Herald was founded by Charles Barton of the Tanunda Deutsche Zeitung. Two months later he sold to the printers James Elliott and James Scandrett. For almost 90 years the Kapunda Herald was a quality country newspaper, printing news reports from the myriad of tiny settlements stretching across the lower and mid-north of South Australia. It also published interesting political commentary. Until 1918 when the Angaston Leader began, it was the only English language newspaper for the Barossa Valley and Murray flats. Between 1903 and 1911, the Herald was also unique as a country newspaper with a pictorial supplement. In 1951 the newspaper was merged with the Barossa News to become the Barossa and Light Herald.

This newspaper was produced by Merlin Publications at Hackney, until becoming a national newspaper based in Melbourne from 1983. Aimed mostly at primary school children, it includes a lot of content created by its readers. There are regular book, film, music and sports columns. Regular contributors included sportsman Richard Newman, and weatherman Keith Martyn.

The Kingston Traders' Association established this short-lived newspaper. The aim was to 'record faithfully the growing needs of the district in business as well as pleasure' (5 July 1946, p. 1). By early 1947 the publishers were finding it difficult to continue, and the newspaper was taken over by a group of local businessmen. The newspaper was full of local news and the doings of residents. Plenty of space was dedicated to local sport. There were also social notes, the activities of the local Country Women's Association and the Primary Producers' group, as well as historical articles. Closure was forced by 'lack of support and continually rising costs'. (23 March 1951, p.3)

This was the official newspaper of the South Australian Labor Party.

This is the official newspaper of the South Australian Branch of the Australian Labor Party.

This newspaper was published by the school teacher Charles Drummond to support working men's movements in Adelaide, including the Eight Hours campaign. Apart from editorials supporting the labour movement, it contains two interesting columns. 'The 'bus papers' by Vulcan, and 'Irregular jottings' by A Working Man are interesting commentaries of the period. It followed in the footsteps of the earlier Labour Star, of which no copies have survived.

This Meningie newspaper is published in a magazine format. Its geographical coverage includes Tailem Bend, Salt Creek, Narrung, Coonalpyn and Tintinara.

The Lameroo Mail survived for only two issues. It contained mostly syndicated general interest news, with local events reported on the back page.

The Lameroo Weekly News lasted for just four issues. It contained snippets of local news and sport, and advertisements for local businesses.

This was a comic journal commenting on current issues and prominent figures of the day. Political figures were the major target. Sport and the theatre also received regular coverage. In 1875 and 1876 the paper printed the Licensed Victuallers' Advertiser as a supplement. The first editor was the lawyer and politician George Stevenson, son of the first editor of the Register. Early cartoonists included Alfred Clint, John Hood and JH Parr. Samuel Calvert was the engraver. In 1881 a new format was taken as the Adelaide Bulletin and Lantern, modelled perhaps on the Sydney Bulletin. This contained more serious articles and no cartoons. But from July 1882 the Lantern was re-issued in its old format. In 1884 the paper absorbed Adelaide Punch. In 1890 the Lantern itself was absorbed by a new venture, Quiz, which became the state's longest running comic paper.

This newspaper covered a wide geographical area. In 1948 it was merged with three other country newspapers to become the new Northern Review.

This was the first English-language newspaper covering any part of the Barossa Valley, apart from the Kapunda Herald. Its geographical coverage included Nuriootpa, Tanunda, Mount Pleasant, Birdwood and Gumeracha.

The Local was one of many suburban newspapers which sprang up following the Second World War. It was initially published by the Findon and Flinders Park sub-branch of the R.S.L. The editor was WM Wicks. In 1948 publication was taken over by the Beverley Ward Progress Association. In 1954, when the title changed to Western Districts Local, the editor was RR Cox.

This was a country edition of the popular Adelaide Trading Post.

This was the Mount Gambier version of the popular Adelaide Trading Post.

The Loxton Clarion ran for only three years following the First World War. Proprietor Jack Irving aimed to produce a newspaper reflecting the concerns of Loxton and surrounding districts. Strongly rural in focus, the articles covered crops, care of livestock and vehicle maintenance. Local sport was also a strong feature.

Jack Irving, publisher of the Loxton Clarion in the 1920s, came out of retirement to found the Loxton News. This newspaper incorporated the Loxton Community Newsletter published between 1956 and 1960. In 1964 it was sold to the Murray Pioneer. The newspaper has won many Country Press SA awards.