SA Newspapers: Business/Professional

This was a comic journal commenting on current issues and prominent figures of the day. Political figures were the major target. Sport and the theatre also received regular coverage. In 1875 and 1876 the paper printed the Licensed Victuallers' Advertiser as a supplement. The Lantern's first editor was the lawyer and politician George Stevenson, son of the first editor of the Register. Early cartoonists included Alfred Clint, John Hood and J.H. Parr, and Samuel Calvert the well-known engraver. In 1881 an entirely new format was taken as the Adelaide Bulletin and Lantern, modelled perhaps on the Sydney Bulletin. This contained more serious articles and no cartoons. From July 1882 the Lantern was re-issued in its old format. In 1884 the paper absorbed Adelaide Punch. In 1890 the Lantern itself was absorbed by a new venture, Quiz, which became the state's longest running comic paper.

From 1838 printer George Dehane was a prolific newspaper printer and publisher. As the name suggests, this newspaper was largely a vehicle for advertising. It was almost certainly South Australia's first free newspaper. It contains auction notices, land sales and advertisements for such varied products as horse servicing, money-lenders and schools. The advertisements were interspersed with news of the week – largely reports of accidents and fatalities. Dehane claimed that the newspaper had a circulation of 4,000 copies per issue. The State Library of South Australia set is very incomplete.

Published largely as an advertising sheet for the land agents, C.H. Matters and co., this newspaper contains only snippets of news between its columns of advertisements. Only two issues are known to exist.

This appears to be the only issue of this staff club newspaper. It was produced for the one thousand Adelaide Tramways Trust employees in 1911. It contains cartoons of various staff by Will Nottle, who was also the editor. The introductory article is based on an interview with premier John Verran.

Shipping lists containing both names of travellers and details of cargoes, were printed in the local newspapers from the establishment of the Australian colonies. From the end of the nineteenth century specialised newspapers containing greater details of these lists, and of shipping movements generally, were published. These were sometimes published as national newspapers, including shipping details for each state.

This is an early version of the long running classified advertisement newspaper. The newspaper ceased in 2009 due to the rise of Internet advertising.

This was the earliest in a series of newspapers containing only classified advertisements. It was published under various titles until 2009, when its advertising role was superseded by the Internet.

This newspaper was published by Adelaide members of the Australian Journalists' Association.

This was a country version of the Adelaide Trading Post. It had a number of titles at differing periods.

Shipping lists containing both names of travellers and details of cargoes were printed in the local newspapers from the establishment of the Australian colonies. From the end of the nineteenth century specialised newspapers containing greater details were compiled. These were sometimes published as national newspapers, containing shipping details for each state.

Shipping lists containing both names of travellers and details of cargoes were printed in the local newspapers from the establishment of the Australian colonies. From the end of the nineteenth century specialised newspapers containing greater details were compiled. These were sometimes published as national newspapers, containing shipping details for each state.

Shipping lists containing both names of travellers and details of cargoes were printed in the local newspapers from the establishment of the Australian colonies. From the end of the nineteenth century specialised newspapers containing greater details were compiled. These were sometimes published as national newspapers, containing shipping details for each state.

Charles Smith of the Adelaide and Port Lincoln Trading Company published this newspaper to promote land sales at Port Lincoln. Joseph Barnett was the publisher and Archibald Macdougall the printer. There were many humorous as well as more serious articles in the newspaper. Proceeds from sales were donated to charitable causes, including the establishment of the Adelaide Hospital.

The Exchange was an advertising medium for shops and other businesses at Mount Gambier. Early issues of this free newspaper do not seem to have survived, but publishing probably began in 1902. For almost 30 years the Clark family, local printers published this newspaper. It ceased when the Second World War caused paper restrictions and a decline in advertising.

This was essentially a trade journal, but includes a range of articles of a more general newspaper style, and employed newspaper journalists on its staff. During the Boer War it published articles by a well-known (Australian) war correspondent, Horace Spooner.

This was essentially a trade journal, but includes a range of articles of a more general newspaper style, and employed newspaper journalists on its staff. During the Boer War it published articles by a well-known (Australian) war correspondent, Horace Spooner.

This was essentially a trade journal, but includes a range of articles of a more general newspaper style, and employed newspaper journalists on its staff. During the Boer War it published articles by a well-known (Australian) war correspondent, Horace Spooner.

This was a country version of the Adelaide Trading Post. It had various titles at differing periods.

This was a country edition of the popular Adelaide Trading Post.

This was the Mount Gambier version of the popular Adelaide Trading Post.

This single sheet newspaper contains information describing an accident that occurred at the Adelaide Railway Station on 29 January 1923. It was probably produced by PJ McMahon, who ran a boot stall outside the railway station. The back of the sheet contains further details of the accident, as well as the results of the race meeting held the same day at Victoria Park.

James and Fred Hales published this newspaper during a period of gold exploration in Western Australia. It was little more than a collection of prospectuses for mining ventures and a promotional tool for the brothers’ stockbroking business.

This was a publication of the Hales brothers. As well as some journalism work, the brothers were mining agents. The newspaper also covered some local horse racing.

This newspaper was published by the Central Traders and Central Market Stallholders’ Associations. It was a free publication and aimed to promote city businesses located between Grote and Gouger Streets. It published advertisements, fashion articles and recipes, but reported little actual ‘news’.

‘New Adelaide’ was the name given to the section of the city around Victoria Square and Gouger Street. This included the Central Market and various stores and theatres. This newspaper was produced on behalf of the Central Traders Association. Besides covering a unique inner city district in some detail, the paper covered a range of issues that arose immediately after the First World War. These included prohibition, profiteering, setting the basic wage and the Spanish influenza epidemic.

This was the country version of the popular Adelaide Trading Post. It had various titles at different times.

This was a country version of the popular Adelaide Trading Post.

This small newspaper was founded as an independent weekly during the difficult economic period caused by the Victorian gold rush. Regular news from the diggings appeared, as well as long reports of the first South Australian Legislative Council. The editorials contain interesting political discussions and strong criticism of the Victorian government. Reports of the first municipal councils, and a lot of sport, mostly horse racing and some cricket, was also included. The newspaper had strong connections with the licensed victuallers, so a large number of advertisements for hotels and breweries appeared, and editorials supported Sunday opening of hotels. The State Library holds a very incomplete set of the newspaper.

This newspaper was published by the Licensed Victuallers' Association, as the title suggests. It had a strong focus on sport. In part this was probably due to the common practice at the time of hotels raising or sponsoring sporting teams. Horse racing, cricket and football were the main sports covered. Boxing, athletics and yachting were also well reported. The title changed along with a slight change in focus when it was renamed the South Australian Sentinel.

This was an advertising newspaper published by John Northmore, a partner with Horace Dean in the drapery business of Northmore & Dean. It contained large advertisements for the firm and other city businesses. Northmore's obituary claimed, his ‘advertising ... was of a novel and somewhat sensational character.’ (South Australian Register, 9 June 1891, p. 3) He was also the author of ‘fluent and trenchant letters on political and other subjects,’ to Adelaide newspapers’ (ibid) His newspaper contained insightful criticism of local politics, and regular letters by ‘Tommy Rough’ commenting on topics such as Chinese immigration, which the author was strongly against. Northmore was known for his verse and anonymous poems in the newspaper may have been by him. The Library holds an incomplete set of the newspaper which probably ran for three years. The final issue announces the dissolution of Northmore and Dean's partnership. (15 October 1879, p. 1)

This was the last title in a series of newspapers containing only classified advertisements which began in 1968. Its advertising role was superseded by the Internet in 2009.

The Weekly Trading Post, under various titles, was a popular source of classified advertisements, concentrating on secondhand goods, for forty years. It was overtaken by the Internet.

The Willunga Bulletin was really a four-page advertisement for the American based Dr Sheldon's medicines. The broadsheet was printed so that any title could be added to the front with local agent's advertisements placed on the back. In this case the local agent was Matthew Goode who ran a general store at Willunga from about 1890 until the 1920s. The four pages are filled with short jokes, articles about uses for the medicines, and a competition for children.